We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Court Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #320 of 464 Hotels in New York City
1 review
“First trip to New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Please be aware that some of the rooms are tiny by European standards ( poor old room 401 for example) That said Nalini the General Manager and the front desk staff were magnificent in upgrading us not once but twice and responding very quickly to deal with our disappointment. The hotel is just off Broadway and Times Square with a good bar and restaurant available to guests and first class service from all staff from front door, desk, portering and housekeeping. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Do expect some New York type noise, sirens and traffic but that adds to the sense of being in the Bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    690
    381
    187
    184
See reviews for
234
796
139
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasig, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great hotel location , very accessible and walking distance from Times Square.Place was great.Hotel Receptionist Kathy was very helpful with directions and Maps. She even gave us VIP passes for ESB's observatory so we don't have to cue in a long line. Jer is also a Filipino and he is what we expected to be, very courteous and helpful as well. Thank you for the great experience and hope to be coming back soon!

Room Tip: accesibility, cheaper than most hotels in the vicinity, if you stay longer its cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACourtGM, General Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to mention our team members who were especially helpful to you!

Thank you again for your kind review and we hope you keep us in mind during your next visit to NYC.

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just back from a 4 night stay & can't fault the hotel for value and it's fab location. Staff were very friendly & helpful and as it was our 1st wedding anniversary they were good enough to upgrade our room. Literally a few mins walk from Times Square & all the theatres for a show. Subway only a minute walk as well. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACourtGM, General Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your kind review and we hope you keep us in mind upon your next visit to NYC.

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Best stay in NY. For the first time I have a god experience from hotel in NY. I will stay here my next trip to town. Friendly, professional staf. Good breakfast. Excellent location. I recomend this hotel.



  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACourtGM, General Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you very much for your positive review!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and your time in NYC! We are very proud of our amazing staff and we are glad you noticed how wonderful they all are!

We hope we can welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velserbroek
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

room was poor. bed good, but no windows and very warm. airco was extreme noisy.
hotel, staff and other personel very good and helpful.situation of the hotel was perfect. In the neigbourhood you find everything as Maicy, Time square, Center Parc.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACourtGM, General Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. I am disappointed that you did not find your room comfortable.

I hope that you made us aware of the challenges while you were staying with us so we could assist to ensure your comfort.

We appreciate you taking the time to make mention of our helpful team and we hope we are able to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drake, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This may have been the smallest room I have ever stayed in, which is saying something. Picture a queen-sized bed. Now add about 2 and a half feet on 3 sides and you have the idea. But before you move on: the bathroom was full-sized and everything was very clean. Yes, there was some rust on the towel rack. But the tub/shower was powerful and there was lots of hot water. The bed was very comfortable. The closet space was good, so while two in the room would be tight both would have enough space for their stuff. The tv had fine if basic channel selection. I did not pay for the wifi but it is free in the lobby and was fine. There is no refrigerator, but then again, it's not the Crowne Plaza - wait, they did not have one either! There is also no view at all, but that also means no annoying lights or excessive noise. Concierge staff was very helpful and spoke a variety of languages. The location is great - literally half a block off Broadway and very close to several different subway lines. The room was pretty quiet but the window air conditioner was noisy yet I had no trouble sleeping. So as long as you are either going solo or with a very good friend, this is a solid NYC choice and if you get the discount, can cost under $200 a night. All of the Broadway theaters are right nearby, and Times Square is right there, too. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACourtGM, General Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you very much for your detailed review of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We do offer an amazing bargain for our location and our team works very hard to ensure that our guests are comfortable.

We appreciate you taking the time to share you experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I travelled to NY from the UK 18th April and stayed for 5 nights. Check in was polite and easy. As mentioned before the rooms are a little small but their is a double bed a wardrobe and TV and let's be honest when visiting new york you won't be spending much time in the room. We were out most mornings by 8 am and back around 11 pm. The only problem with the room is the toilet is poorly located with a wall directly in front of it meaning you had to sit sideways on the toilet to use it. Only a minor problem though. The hotel itself is located perfectly. Turn right out of the hotel to the end of the street, turn right again and times square is directly in front of you. Also stardust diner at the end of the street is a perfect please to eat and be entertained by live music from the waiters and waitresses. If I am ever lucky enough to visit NY again I would 100% use this hotel again and I have already recommended it to friends who plan ont visiting in the future. Thanks for the stay

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACourtGM, General Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you very much for your kind review and recommendation! We are delighted that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your time while in NYC!

Our location is amazing and we hope that you keep us in mind during your next visit to NYC!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#254 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockefeller Center 4 blocks. In the heart of the Theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.