We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Court Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #322 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Tulsa
1 review
“New York Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nice hotel. Rooms are very small but since I was out most of the day and evening it worked out fine. All the staff are extremely helpful and welcoming everytime your enter the lobby. Great location!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Deborah H,

It was so wonferful to have you join us here at The Amsterdam Court. Though a short visit, we are grateful for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you the next time you head our way, either for business or pleasure.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    574
    324
    159
    170
See reviews for
182
656
107
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The room was tiny, you could feel the springs of the mattress through the bedding, the plywood under the carpet felt like it was giving way by the bathroom door, there was no heat. Not worth the $300!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Amy E,

Our sincerest apologies for any discomforts you may have experienced during your stay with us. Unfortunately the Express rooms are a bit small as is explained in the website at 100 square feet and this is in fact what you reserved and by no means "false advertising". Having been that uncomfortable with the bed we would have been happy to move you to another room where you may have found the bedding more to your liking. Still, with all this clarified it still troubles me that you did not have an anjoyable stay. If you would ever be so kind as to stay with us again please reach out to me directly so I can assure a more pleasant stay.

Warmest regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Could not fault this hotel. Located off Times Square in between two subway stations. Nice room and really good shower. Room was cleaned every day and was very comfortable! Eddy was also very helpful on reception. Cannot fault this hotel for anything! Great find will be staying again if I'm in New York!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Shivdona,

Thank you for such a superlative review of your most recent stay at The Amsterdam Court. We are so pleased to hear that your stay was a most enjoyable one and that the location played a big part in that as well. Also I have shared your comments with Eddy and he is truly touched by your kind words. We are anxious to welcome you back again real soon and look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Nice hotel, rooms are very, very small but the location makes up for it. Service is good and the hotel bar and restaurant are warm and friendly. Not ideal for a family spot but suitable for people who want to be near the action.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Brian S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at the Amsterdam Court Hotel. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with our Executive Team to address within their respective departments. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Amsterdam Court the next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly if I may be of any further assistance now or in the future.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel is right in the midst of the Times Square area but on a relatlvely quiet street. 2 metro stations are very near as are many bus stops. Its old fashioned in its decor, rather shabby and dark but the room we had (for 2) was clean and had 2 comfortable queen-sized beds and sparkling white linen. We had to ask for coat hangers but otherwise no complaints. The bathroom had a marble-lined walk in shower with constant hot water but miserable toiletries that were not renewed. There is a breakfast area but limited to a very basic "continental" style meal. There are plenty of places where you can eat after a short walk. Sadly no coffee making facilities in the room so you go out on an empty stomach! Likewise for an evening meal you are spoilt for choice and price in the immediate vicinity. The restaurant in the hotel is Japanese and busy but if you are staying in the hotel they make every effort to find you a table. The food was varied and interersting, pricewise on a par with other places we ate in. One night in the face of heavy rain we decided to try it and enjoyed it so we ate there another night when we were tired from a long day sightseeing.

The staff were always affable and helpful, gave good advice on touristy matters and sorted out our shuttle booking.

I can't comment on value for money as our booking was part of a Hayes and Jarvis package but I can recommend this hotel for all the above reasons and will certainly try to book when we return

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Archaeologist,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at The Amsterdam Court Hotel. As the Hotel Manager, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the comforts provided you to your liking. We are sorry you did not realize that there was complimentary coffee & tea available in the breakfast area 24/7 so you could haved started your day off a little brighter. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had a bit of a hiccup with the reservation, and could not have been treated with more respect, understanding, and a reasonable solution. The manager, Mr. Gallo is a gem. The hotel is my go to place in New York. Highly recommend (especially the renovated rooms).

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a stellar review. It was my sincerest pleasure to have you join us here at The Amsterdam Court and a greater pleasure to serve you. Your kind words have echoed throughout the hotel and we are truly humbled. We hope to see you again real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

For the price, I think that there are probably better values out there. The location is nice and the staff was great, but the property leaves a lot to be desired. I'll walk a little further next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Mike D,

Our sincere apologies for any inconvenieces that you incurred during your stay. We appreciate your review as we can only better ourselves when we listen to guest feedback. My only wish was that you would have informed us of these issues while you were so they could have been rectified an not caused you such discomfort. Please feel free to conract me directly if you would like to discuss this further. Thank you for choosing the Amsterdam Court.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockefeller Center 4 blocks. In the heart of the Theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.