We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #323 of 449 hotels in New York City
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thank you!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived Sunday 28th October (day before Hurricane SANDY). This hotel is brilliantly located for theatres and Time Squares. Lovely comfortable room. Due to the hurricane the restaurant downstairs was not open until Wednesday, so can not comment on that but did look nice. Yesterday was our last day and we were worried about our flights as the airports had only opened and would of been back logged of flights, Vana, on the front desk, was extremely helpful with checking our booking in on line as our Internet was slow etc because of power failures in the city. She was so so busy with other enquiries and the phone ringing all the time and she still manage to give us lots of help and some great advice regarding our journey to JFK as the day before NYC was a complete gridlock with people returning to work for the firt time since Sunday. Thank you very much Vana, we would most definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Mitzi E,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us; it's wonderful to hear that it was an excellent hotel experience. We're happy that we were able to provide a comfortable base during the hurricane. It was a true pleasure to assist, We very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City. Take care until then!

Warm Regards

Yovana Chinasamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    570
    324
    172
    166
See reviews for
149
552
93
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just stayed at Amsterdam Court Hotel and luckily moved onto Las Vegas the day before hurricane Sandy hit! Hotel was in an excellent location 2 mins from Times Suare.Rooms were very clean but quite dated however they are having a complete refurb in January so hopefully the decor will then match its superb location.I would recommend a little deli around the corner for breakfast rather than eating in the hotel-much better choice and value!

Room Tip: Ask for refurb room on 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had to find a hotel after Hurricane Sandy. So glad to have found Amsterdam Court. Very nice rooms. They are small but the beds and bedding are as good as any you will find in NYC. The front desk staff, especially Vana, were very accommodating in the face of an extremely stressful time. I would stay here again any time and definitely will be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our weddingday,we celebrated together in New York. Without we knew our children informed the hotel theron.When we arrived our surprise was graet that our hotelroom was very cosy and nice decoreted.Cozy created with flowers,champagne, chocolates,fruits,on the bed a heart of petals and a congratulation card and things in the bathroom.The staff congratulated us friendly smiling.What a charming nice arrival.We want to thank the staff for this and specially Karina and Diosmary.She took care of the idea and the inplementation. It was really super. Thanks all Wim and Trees from the Netherlands.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Willem C

Congratulations on your wedding! The Amsterdam Court family wishes you the best in your future endeavors of becoming husband and wife! We are delighted you had a lovely stay and we thank you for posting such a great review, we hope to welcome you and your new husband back for your Anniversary perhaps!

Warm Regards

Yovana Chinasamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

If location is prio 1 for you, then choose this hotel. It is not the best if you are looking for luxury. Quality is standard. Rooms bit outdated and could use an update. In our case we spend less time in the hotel so I do not bother. Times Square - 5min. 5TH Avenue - 10min. Central Park - 15min. Hotel is super central in the middle of Broadway. All hotspots are within reach!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Me and my mum came over to New York for my birthday, We stayed at Amsterdam Court Hotel and left on Tuesday 23rd October, Thank You For Making Our Experience In New York The Best One, We Are Definatley Choosing Amsterdam Court For Our Next Visit To The City !!!

Very Clean
Great Service
Very Friendly/Helpful Staff
Great Food
Great Value For Money
Very Close To Times Square And All Main Attractions

Thank-You To Vana For All The Advice She Gave Us On New York And Great Service !
Thank-You To Marleny For Excellent Service On Reception, Very Welcoming And Very Well Mannored !
Thank-You To Robert For All The Help With Our Bags And For Putting Up With Us When We Kept Going To Him With More Bags haha !

Very Very Very Impressed With Amsterdam Court Well Recommened !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear natashahennessey04

Short and sweet - thank you very much for your review and nice comments about our staff! All of us here at Amsterdam Court are very happy knowing you had a great stay and got to enjoy our prime location. We hope to see you again soon, and take care!

Warm Regards

Vana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just got back from a weekend at The Amsterdam Court hotel, if was Fantastic, I love this place, first of all I arrived at 12.30pm, not expecting to check in I was offered my room as it was ready!! great start, I quickly unpacked and hit the city, on my return back from my city visit I was met by a wonderful British accent staff who was very attentive and ask how my first trip to NYC was going, I believe her name to be Vanna? she made suggestions on where to eat, visit in my short weekend. She said she would arrange a taxi to the resturant etc, the housekeeping cleaned my room so quick after I had breakfast, I asked for extra pillows which were delivered to my room within minutes. Location is perfect and the price was much more than other centrally located hotels. I would stay here again, actual I made enquiries for an advance booking where the rates are amazing, get in early!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear visitnyc,

Thank you very much for your recent review of Amsterdam Court, New York on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our location, and friendly staff. So gald we could be a part of your first trip to New York City, and we look forward to your second.

Warm Regards

Vana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockefeller Center 4 blocks. In the heart of the Theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.