We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Uptown Go to for Oysters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mermaid Inn Uptown

Mermaid Inn Uptown
568 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, NY 10074 (Manhattan)
212.799.7400
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mermaid Inn Uptown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #414 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 88th Street
Transit: We are located on the 1,B,C and E lines at 86th Street.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Uptown Go to for Oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We hit up the Mermaid at least once or twice a month. It's the best place uptown for oysters, seafood specials, and a solid fish taco. I mean you gotta have a good fish taco. It's a fun, funky place, with a good vibe. Service is always great and then there is the happy hour. If you can get there between 5-7 they have $1 oysters, dinner and drink specials. It's one of the best deals on the upper west side . . . but people know it, and it can get packed. A reservation is not a bad idea. Free chocolate pudding for dessert. Check it out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“charming with a great raw bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We enjoy this neighborhood seafood restaurant for the great raw bar and delicious seafood entrees. The blackened "Southern Style" catfish is one of my favorites and there are always interesting specials to try. The happy hour seems like a great deal (although we've never actually made it on time). Great cocktail list-obsessed with the Hot & Dirty.

Reservations are highly recommended and there is no dessert menu, but a complimentary treat at the end. Gets noisy and crowded in the evenings, but in a good way! Service is laid back and always with a smile.

Check out the photos of JFK and Jackie gracing the walls.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Best fried oysters of my entire life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I write very few restaurant reviews, but this charming neighborhood seafood joint completely wowed me. I just made it under the wire on a busy Friday evening for the Happy Hour specials, which are incredibly good values for NYC. Amazing fried oysters for $3 each: lightly battered, perfectly cooked, and served atop a dab of seductive chipotle-mayo. Great littlenecks for a buck. Nice glass of white wine for $6. And then I ordered the amazing grilled octopus appetizer, which managed to be sweet, smoky, and spicy-hot in equal measure. (And the gratis chocolate pudding was delightful!) Though he was super-busy, the bartender Landy was competent, warm, and friendly, and he made me feel very welcome as a solo diner. I will definitely be returning with my spouse and other seafood fans; the only negative is that it got pretty loud as the night wore on, but that's not unusual in NYC restaurants. If you go for HH, leave a generous tip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Bland food served up by indifferent staff in a cramped, noisy space. Perhaps it's appeal is that the UWS lacks much in the way of inspiring cuisine. You won't find it here either. Skippable. Also, be warned, they overbook.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I got horribly sick on the food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We ate at this place a couple nights ago and it was absolutely awful. We really should have left as the service was terrible as well and I saw a couple flies buzzing around. After eating our extremely mediocre dinner I went home and was sick all night. I still feel bad today. Please stay away from this place - it should be shut down by the Department of Health.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mermaid Inn Uptown also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Mermaid Inn Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaid Inn Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.