We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Wait Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mermaid Inn Uptown

Mermaid Inn Uptown
568 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, NY 10074 (Manhattan)
212.799.7400
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mermaid Inn Uptown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #416 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 88th Street
Transit: We are located on the 1,B,C and E lines at 86th Street.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Wait Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

What a pleasant surprise. We couldn't get into the restaurant we wanted ended up here. We thought we were settling but it really was great.
The waiter we had was awesome, good sense of humor, knowledgeable and honest.
We had oysters, shrimp cocktail and the calamari for apps. The calamari was the best!
All our entrees were great, I had the fish tacos.

All reasonably priced. Only slight disappointment was the limited wine list.

I would definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saanen, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Dining Exprience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have been twice in one week once for Lunch on Sunday September 30th and for Dinner on Tuesday October 2, 2012. Both times we had excellent food and excellent service. The atmosphere is very pleasant and the staff makes the dining experience a joy.

When you have eaten at the top restaurants around the world you appreciate a nice casual atmosphere with friendly service and good food.

If you like oysters, at the Mermaid Inn they are absolutely devine. Just ask tell your server what you like and they will recommend the right oyster for your taste.

The dining experience was so great that before I return back home we will probably go there again, especially for their happy our $1 oysters.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Heights, New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overall they are great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had brunch here with a group of friends (10) and the staff was so helpful and warm. The food was fresh and flavorful. The japanese oysters were creamy and amazing ! The burger was sinful and the bloody mary was perfect. There are a good number of options for brunch and even the vegetarians were happy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Amazing food selection and the prices before 7pm for appetizers, oysters and drinks can't be beat. Great waitstaff, divine food and humming ambience. Back room was a bit quieter than the one by the bar but is still way too noisy to easily have a conversation without shouting once the tables filled.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Happy Hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This restaurant made my "must try" list on a recent visit to NYC. The happy hour sounded tempting. My friend and I enjoyed a beautiful evening sitting in the outside dining area. Service was great and the oysters were delish! I enjoyed the bread service and the free chocolate pudding dessert was a nice touch. The fish on the fish tacos was meager, but overall it was a worthwhile experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mermaid Inn Uptown also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Mermaid Inn Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaid Inn Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.