We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Nice service, So-so food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whym - CLOSED

Whym
889 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)
(212) 315-0088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 58th and 57th
Transit: The nearest subway stop is the Columbus Circle Station, one block east of our location. The A, B, C, D, and 1 Trains are available at this location.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Great location, Nice service, So-so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We selected this restaurant because it is convenient to Lincoln Center and has a very nice menu. My guest arrived first and was seated at a small table in the sun, despite a long-standing reservation and an empty restaurant. They did change us to a better table upon request. The service was friendly and quick, although not particularly attentive. My guest was completely satisfied with her chicken salad, and I found the eggplant in my vegan eggplant/mushroom sandwich sliced too thick and undercooked, leaving an unfortunate rubbery texture. Our strawberry dessert was lovely. Reasonable prices, and we were not rushed out the door. I might go back, but for convenience rather than the food or dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    51
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, BETTER Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Infused Vodka, Awesome Sangria! The drinks were superb. Brunch was great. We really enjoyed our selections but found that just a touch more seasoning would have made our dishes POP. Would definitely return. The staff was outstanding!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
“Very good dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Dinner with friends and family. Quite a bit louder than had hoped. Very good meals but no big surprises. Perhaps a bit spicier than expected. Efficient, friendly service. Somewhat more expensive than food, service, and location warrants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Had evening meal before opera here on recommendation of a friend. Very good menu. I had thai peanut linguine with shrimp---well prepared and seasoned. Would return when in NYC. Check out the symbols on the "facilities" --- creative, requiring a bit of thought for a moment!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bar none!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Can't wait to go back for the BEST Sangria I ever had. Bartender delightful and explained all the good stuff that goes into the making of it. Normally, I have only one but it was soooo good, I ordered two. Dinner was delicious BUT who knows for sure after the two drinks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whym also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whym, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.