We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kunjip Restaurant

Kunjip Restaurant
9 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3810 (Manhattan)
212-216-9487
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,968 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The sevice fast, the food was ok. I try the seafood soup, and the ox knee. The portion for the ox knee was big.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    45
    21
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Candor, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“crazy fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We got a recommendation from friends to come to Kun Jip. After walking around all day we were exhausted and super hungry. We got in the line at just the right time. within 2-3 minutes of our arrival, there were a dozen people behind us. The wait was a while (6:30 on a Saturday, after all). I was grateful that it wasn't raining!

We have had Korean cuisine before but not in such a hectic setting. We thought it was great. Loud, tight seating etc. We gave out order to the hostess before being seated. Some folks might find this a little off putting but we found it to be lively.

What did we eat (shared)? Mandu, Jap Chae, Bulgogi, Kimchee fried rice, Kalbi. Seemed like a lot of food, and with the small plates in th beginning, it was. We feasted like royalty and it was joyous. After walking all day, we were up to the task. Especially liked the Jap Chae. I wish we could make it like that.

Service was friendly. I'd go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilsington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A queue of Koreans tells you what you need to know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I found this place by chance and ended up going 2 nights in a row. Any restaurant that has a queue of its own nationals outside must be good, and so Kunjip is. The staff are really busy, but at the same time friendly and helpful. The food is excellent and I especially liked all the side dishes that came with anything ordered. It has a real buzz about it and is not that expensive. If you like Korean food, this must rank up there with the best, and if you've never tried Korean and want to give it a go I would say that this is a fantastic introduction. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Korean in the area! Line us speak volumes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have eaten here many times whilst working and staying in the area, and I have also tried other Korean restaurants, but always come back here for more!

There is ALWAYS a line up, which in itself is a good sign, and the place is always buzzing.

The greeter at the door is very friendly, and always greets everyone with a big smile and a menu, so they can take your order which will be brought to your table at almost the same time as you will!

The food is consistently great, well presented and plentiful! I thoroughly recommend the seafood pancake which is more than adequate fro 2 people even if you get the small!

If you are a lover of reasonably priced, plentiful, tasty and sometime spicy Korean food, this is a must if you are in the area. The word is obviously out as a few years ago the clientele were 90% Korean, and now there is a very wide spread of different cultures and people, all of whom seem to enjoy the vibe and atmosphere that the friendly efficient staff has to offer.

Definitely recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“24 hr excellent Korean food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Food is amazing, large portion and excellent service! Their Gin Sen chicken is the best!!!!!!! Seafood pancake is yum n of course BBQ was yummy! Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kunjip Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Kunjip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kunjip Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.