We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion King at the Minskoff Theatre

The Lion King at the Minskoff Theatre
200 W. 45th St., Minskoff Theatre, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
866 870-2717
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$149*
and up
Ranked #53 of 810 Activities in New York City
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lion King, modeled on the popular children's movie, opened at the Minskoff Theatre in November of 1997, and is still running. The show is 2 hours 45 minutes long, and show times are as follows: Wednesday-Saturday - 8PM Wednesday & Saturday - 2PM Sunday - 1PM & 6:30PM
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bentonville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

An absolute must for allnages. I had seen this show in london and it was great. New york was out of this world. 12 points on a scale from 1 to 10 .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,337
    836
    273
    58
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Costumes are amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I went with my niece, her husband and their 3 children ages 2, 4, and 5. If you have children arrive 1 hour early, although the doors do not open until 1/2 hour before showtime, and then when you first enter the theatre grab boosters, 2 per child, so they can see over the adults' heads. I thought there would be more children in attendance, but it was 80% adults making it difficult for short little children to see over them. The show runs 2 1/2 hours with a short intermission. They do allow you to bring the drinks and food you buy into the theatre since there is only enough time to purchase during the short intermission. If you want a t-shirt or souvenier, then buy it before the shows starts. The lines after the end of the show were too long. The show itself was fantastic. We had seats that were close to the stage, but if you do not, then bring a pair of binoculars.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent show!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

What an experience, the show was magnificent, really, really, really enjoyed it. Especially in New York on Broadway! Would recommend it to all.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“WOW!! A must see show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This show is AMAZING.

Dont go and you will only regret it, I travelled from the UK and so glad that I booked tickets online first through ticketmaster as when we arrived the queues were massive and the only seats left were the really expensive ones.

We had mezzanine seats and they were perfect views, you could see everything and I cannot understand why people would pay extra because as far as I can see all the seats in the theatre had a good view of the stage and surrounds.

The show does go on for a long time so be prepared. if youv had a long day exploring NYC then make sure you have a red bull or a coffee in advance because the lighting, comfortable seats and temperature make you feel tired despite the amazing show going on infront of you.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

You will be overwhelmed with the talent, the acting, the singing, the costumes, the choreography.... EVERYTHING !!! A standing ovation !!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lion King at the Minskoff Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Lion King at the Minskoff Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion King at the Minskoff Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.