We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great coffee in real cups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aroma Espresso Bar

Aroma Espresso Bar
145 Greene Street, New York City, NY (Manhattan)
2125331094
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,053 of 11,595 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Israeli, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Aviano
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great coffee in real cups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have been spoiled living in Italy because most of the bars serve coffee in real cups (warmed on top of the espresso machine). i was in search of a good coffee served in a ceramic cup and I found it at Aroma. I had a perfect double macchiato in a real cup. The ad for the hot chocolate caught my eye because it was advertised as being a cup of discs of israeli milk chocolate with froathed milk on top of it - the drinker mixes the milk and chocolate until the right strength is reached. I really loved the concept and the presentation, but I would have preferred a darker chocolate. I drank about 2/3 of the hot chocolate. This was a really comfortable cafe. I sat in a cute red leather chair at a nice long table by a window so I could watch the world go by - I liked watching the dogs in their warm jackets being walked. The lay out of the cafe was very nice with plenty of room to spread out, plenty of place to wait in line if needed. The service was quick. i saw two different people eat the oatmeal which looked really nice - a big bowl with fresh fruit on type. I did not try the baked goods - they looked somewhat uninspired. The sandwiches looked fresh and tasty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    22
    24
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Decent place for a hot drink!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Met here around 7PM for a meeting and was surprised by how modern the place was. Service wasn't that great, wasn't even greeting by the person ringing and didn't really seem to appreciate that I asked for soy milk.

Overall the cafe is welcoming with good seating and seemed to have lots of options for bites to eat as well. I had a soy hot chocolate and the person I was meeting with had a chai tea. Both were fine, but nothing to write home about. My hot chocolate actually had tons of chocolate on the bottom.

Probably wouldn't be high on my list to recommend to others, but it served the purpose.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Iced Aroma Light all day every day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I haven't ye had a chance to try their food but I've been stopping in on my way to work a couple of times a week (a detour which costs me a few extra swipes of my metro card!) but it's so worth it.
The iced aroma light is amazing. I know it's not realy that low calorie because every time I ask I get a different answer. ("117". To "just under 200!"!)
I've tried their froyo too which is basic plain and a rip off. And their fruit salad was really fresh.
But I really reccomdnnstopping in for their iced drink. No matter the weather it's always worth it
(Also make sure to get a punch card as the $4 price tag can add up- they tend to punch mine a bunch of extra times)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quick & Easy Breakfast to Go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great coffee and breakfast on the run! Walk up order and good variety on the menu. I would go back for more.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Coffee Drinks, cool vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

great espresso drinks, good place to meet and hang out, better food than Starbucks. Music is a little loud to work but good mix of neighborhood crowd.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma Espresso Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Aroma Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aroma Espresso Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.