We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art, loft, New York, Cool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room in Soho Loft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Room in Soho Loft
Save
You added Room in Soho Loft to your Saves list
153 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% Off December fill-in
Ranked #6 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
New Brighton, Australia
1 review
“Art, loft, New York, Cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

This was our second time to New York and we thought we would stay somewhere more adventurous than the Upper West Side brownstone B&B of our first visit. An arty loft sounded like just the place, and so it was. We stayed on the seventh - the art gallery - floor. We lucked Philipine's room - a lovely room and probably the quieter of the two on this level. We enjoyed the warmth and expansive spaciousness of the gallery/living room, the art on the walls and the artistic decor. We met Albert only for a moment, but it was a happy moment. Michéle, often hard at work preparing for an exhibition, was charming, helpful and hospitable. She didn't bat an eyelid when I confessed to breaking a full jar of jam. We wanderedoften around the district but barely scratched the surface. Stay a month if you can.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    30
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
55
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

I thought this to be quite an exceptional experience. The room was clean and warm, the loft full of fascinating pieces of art, the hosts friendly, open and helpful, and the location seems unbeatable (apart from some stairclimbing perhaps). We will be back here some time!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

This was the perfect spot for the getaway of two childhood friends with busy family and working lives in Europe, coming to explore NYC and celebrate our turning 40! We couldn’t imagine a more authentic experience of NYC than living in this spacious loft, surrounded by beautiful art, and right in the middle of SoHo with all its chic shops and restaurants. The rooms were decorated with style - simple but elegant with original works of art. We particularly liked our bathroom in the Philipine’s room (see the pictures). The breakfast was modest but we enjoyed drinking our Gourmet Garage coffee in the gallery’s artistic atmosphere. And in the evenings, after a long day exploring the city and climbing up the stairs to the 7th floor (!!!), it was good to come back and relax on the gallery’s red couch, sipping sparkling wine and listening to music. The hosts were very nice and made us feel like a friend visiting their place. Also, they gave us very good tips on all the local, non-touristy places to go to eat.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

The hospitality we received from the host family was far above expectations. My wife and I felt totally at home in SOHO, and enjoyed our stay.

For us there is no other place to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

We stayed in Philipine's room with its own wet room style bathroom. The loft is in a great location in SoHo with plenty of trendy places around to eat and shop. It's also close to the subway for heading uptown. The very friendly owners have plenty of helpful tips for places to visit and eat locally. The loft is spacious and having the kitchen was handy for making drinks and snacks. It felt like we were living in NY rather than just staying there. This place is great value considering how spacious the loft is. We had to share the space with another couple but this was not a problem as we hardly saw them. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Usually, holidays are normally around lakes or the like, normally in Europe, and initially wasn't looking forward to a week in New York. On a recommendation from a friend who had stayed in the 'loft' in NY, we thought we'd give it a try.
The location is perfect, north of the financial sector, round the corner from Little Italy.
The host - what can I say? Nothing was too much trouble, and when we first arrived he'd identified places to eat, etc. The place is clean and tidy and examples of art in both of the floors we looked at.
There is no complaint with the rooms, service, locations at all, the only issue that the lift doesn't work on a Sunday, which was a bit of a problems with our purchases in NY!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Absolutely fabulous - this is a place full of loveliness, creativity and arts! Michelle and Albert, thanks for everything. This is definitely my favourite accommodation ever!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room in Soho Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room in Soho Loft

Address: 153 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is more a guest house than the regular B&B, in these two amazing lofts located in a 1875 industrial building. On the new 7th floor space (2500sq.feet) we rent 2 bedrooms air-conditioned, with private bathrooms, spacious kitchen and living room. On the 5th floor walk up, we offer 2 bedrooms, air-conditioned, for rent with a shared bathroom. The Innkeepers, French and Canadian artists, also work and live there. The kitchen, living room and hi-speed internet access are also available for your convenience. Breakfast: Coffee and tea, tips and happiness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Room In Soho Loft Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room in Soho Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.