We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect New York experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room in Soho Loft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Room in Soho Loft
Save Saved
You added Room in Soho Loft to your Saves list
153 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
Abu Dhabi
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The perfect New York experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked with Room in SoHo because of the great reviews they received on Trip Advisor and the unique experience they offer. Michele went the extra mile to make our first time New York experience one to remember! An example of this was how accommodating she was after we arrived a day late due to flight cancelations and 45mins from the time we arrived my husband had a specialist appointment across town. Taking into account that we hadn’t had lunch, Michele escorted us to a great local sandwich shop, hailed a cab for us and sent us on our way to the appointment with time to spare. If it wasn’t for her kind and personal attention to our needs we might not have ever made the appointment.
Although Michele may not be a native New Yorker, she certainly knows the territory well and has you in amongst the action by day and tasting the best food by night. Each day she was hands on helping us plan our itinerary which took the guess work out of it so we could sit back and enjoy the experience. She seemed less like a B&B owner and more like a friend, all while still being very professional. The eclectic loft apartment and its surroundings were perfect for my husband and I to enjoy a private and comfortable stay in the heart of NYC. Honestly, nothing bad to say. Money well spent!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    28
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
48
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent four days at Albert and Michèle's and we keep fond memories of our stay! Perfect location, lovely place for art lovers, warm welcome from our hosts, everything was according to our expectations.

Room Tip: The 7th floor gives you more privacy as it is only shared by four people max (2 rooms). Huge space i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Highly recommended. We will come back!

A different, personal, warm and intimate atmosphere and experience than regular bed and breakfast. Stayed in 7th Floor in Blue Room and Philipino room. Run by a hospitable and interesting artistic family of 4 (incl. the dog Scout). Good taste, details, interesting place, fantastic art, big living-space in the apartment/art gallery, clean well kept rooms. Most of the time we had the 7th floor all by ourself, and enjoyed the people (guest and host) we met there too. Location is superb. Its just an amazing place.

7th Floor in Blue Room and Philipino room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My two BFF's and I stayed here the first week of Dec. 2013. It is fantastic! Awesome location! Safe. Close to subway. Right in SoHo. Close to restaurants and shops. The French restaurant on the corner is awesome! We ate there twice. Albert & Michelle were so friendly and helped us with ideas of things to do. The three of us stayed on the 7th floor and it was wonderful. We had separate rooms and bathrooms, a kitchen, and a living room. We were treated to wonderful breads each morning from either Albert or Michelle. We would enjoy our breakfast as we planned our day. After long days of walking and seeing all of the sights of NYC, we would come back to the loft and have fabulous hors d'oeuvres and wine. They both helped us with our luggage on the sad day that we had to leave. Stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

It was an amazing experience. Albert, Michele, Philipine and scout were part of a very hospitable family. When we arrive, Albert and Michele made sure we were settled in nicely into the room. We love their wonderful handmade guide as it provided information on what was good around the area. We tried parigot and Eileen's cheesecake (best salted caramel cheesecake ever!). The rooms were decorated with many art pieces created by Albert and his family. Truly inspirational! Michele helped us with laundry, Albert always offered coffee and scout always made sure that he was there for a little pat :). We really felt at home. They even provided toiletries like toothpaste and shampoo, etc. highly recommended! The location is superb as well because it is a stone's throw away from the subway/metro. Really convenient. It's a pity we had to leave after 5 days. Hope to return in the future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in November 2013 & it was very enjoyable. I stayed on the 5th floor with Albert & his family & they make you feel very welcome. They recommend the best spots in the local area & even provided a map. The location is close to shops, subway, restaurants & the best cheesecake ever (I don't usually even like cheesecake). The room I stayed in had a very comfortable bed. Other facilities on this floor are shared with Albert & his family & other guests if the other bedroom is occupied. The layout of the apartment is spacious & there was never a wait for the bathroom as everyone was coming & going at different times. I would definately recommend staying here. Scout, their little King Charles spaniel is adorable! I would recommend ear plugs for the bedroom facing the main street as it can be a little noisy at night from the bar on the corner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed a few weeks back........ Every single member of staff is amazing so polite. Perfect location comfy bed to sleep in after endless hours of shopping!! I will definitely return and 100 per cent recommend to any one visiting New York City

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Room in Soho Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room in Soho Loft

Address: 153 Lafayette Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is more a guest house than the regular B&B, in these two amazing lofts located in a 1875 industrial building. On the new 7th floor space (2500sq.feet) we rent 2 bedrooms air-conditioned, with private bathrooms, spacious kitchen and living room. On the 5th floor walk up, we offer 2 bedrooms, air-conditioned, for rent with a shared bathroom. The Innkeepers, French and Canadian artists, also work and live there. The kitchen, living room and hi-speed internet access are also available for your convenience. Breakfast: Coffee and tea, tips and happiness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Room In Soho Loft Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room in Soho Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;