We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best cookies I've ever eaten!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Levain Bakery

Levain Bakery
167 W. 74th St., New York City, NY 10023-2216
(212) 874-6080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best cookies I've ever eaten!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

If you are a cookie person, these cookies are really great. I guess I'm not huge cookie person, but I can see how others would love them. Soft inside, melt in your mouth, delicious. We went there for my son who loves sweets. Walk 2 (long) blocks East of Central Park on 74th. There was a long line at 4pm or so on a Sunday, and some of the cookies were already sold out. Another disappointment was they were out of milk- and the cookies are so rich, you have to have milk! PS- cookies were $4 each. All in all, if you love cookies, it's worth seeking it out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,277
    289
    98
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Scone or cookie... It doesn't matter because it's that good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We bought two cookies - oatmeal raisin and the chocolate chip walnut. They were huge and we had to save half of each for later. I personally liked them cooked down - ours were overnight. They were big and delicious. When hot, it felt like a fresh scone (chocolate oozing out) and when overnight it tasted like a cookie (crunchy outside, cookie dough inside). So good. I just wished we had an opportunity to go get some more. Definitely go when visiting the natural history museum. We brought it in as a mid day snack there - perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bourbonnais, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best cookie ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I read about Levain Bakery on Tripadvisor and had to pay them a visit to see what all of the fuss was about. I am so glad I did! The bakery is small and if you blink you might miss it. There wasn't a line when I went on a weekday morning at about 10 am and as previous posters stated not too many people can fit inside at one time. My son and I ordered a double chocolate chip cookie and my husband got a chocolate with walnut and we were equally amazed at how delicious they were. The cookies were huge and decadent and worth every penny.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best cookie in the world ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I've try many cookies around the world but nothing like this one . It melts in your mouth , one downside is that you have to eat them fresh
SUPERB !!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Working basement bakery with delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I took the children here today as it is v highly rated on Trip Advisor. It is not a restaurant it is a working bakery in a basement and, as other reviewers have said, nowhere to sit so not a destination as such. We bought huge warm slices of divine banana and chocolate loaf for $3 each and ate them on the Ross Terrace at the AMNH watching the fountains. Perfect.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levain Bakery also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Levain Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Levain Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.