We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune

Neptune
194 1st Ave, New York City, NY 10009 (East Village)
212-777-4163
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,704 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $5 - $10
Neighborhood: East Village
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: East Village
florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“we loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

my sister and I stumbled upon this place while walking . the potato perigees are great , cheese are sweet and we didn't care for them . potato pancakes were great . good service

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great local find - will be a regular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

polish menu of American items - great breakfast. great service, taste and value, wife has the most expensive omelet with egg whites and veggies. I had 2 eggs. both came with toast and potato and coffee juice. then we went all out and got a side of kielbasa with my eggs and a half order of perogi. all was great and just to put icing on the cake the bill came to $12.80. Gave the waitress a $20 and said to keep the change - so appreciative - could have gone to a $20+ per person brunch and been so less satisfied. This place made us happy and full

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Polish Homemade Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

On our way out of NYC we stopped at Neptune's (Former KK's) for brunch. As usual they did not disappoint. This is the place to go for hearty, no nonsense, delicious homemade Polish food.
I had the $12.95 Farmer's Platter which included roast pork, 1/2 kielbasa, potato dumplings and sauerkraut. Needless to say we did not make it to dessert.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Covers basics of Polish cuisine well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had dinner here and left very satisfied. It was a cold, rainy winter night when what your body needs is to leave its typical diet and dive into a warm, cozy meal. This place is casual and serves the basics of Polish cooking: potato pancakes, stuffed cabbage, kielbasa and soups. We ordered a sampler and liked it very much. For dessert we ordered palacsinka - or what they call blitzes. It is basically a crepe stuffed with sweetened farmer's cheese. Don't bother with the fruit flavors (unless you are really keen on it). Take it from an Eastern European: just the sweetened cheese is enough. Delicious.

Nice people working there, food came quickly.

Would return again.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Simple and good traditional Polish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I like Polish food, so I wanted to give this restaurant a try. The food was tasty, the portions were generous and I enjoyed it. My main complain is that the service was slightly slow and erratic. For example, I got my main course first and then five minute later they came with the soup.

I could compare the food at Neptune with the one they serve at nice 'milk bars' in Warsaw. It is important to note that the food is not exactly gourmet quality, but is good enough (especially taking into account the reasonable prices they charge).

I would be happy to eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune also viewed

 

Been to Neptune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.