We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Esquina

La Esquina
106 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4076 (SoHo)
646-613-1333
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoHo
Cross street: Kenmare Street
Transit: 6 train to Spring Street
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great authentic Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Ordered tortilla soup, corn, chicken torta, and steak tacos. All were good but probably wouldn't order the chicken torta again.

Service was okay. They opened the door and we were sitting right next to the door and froze so they moved us. I later asked for them to close the door and he have us attitude.

Ambiance was okay, very small.

Overall we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    149
    33
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Vibe Amazing, Food Good, Service Hit or Miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

La Esquina is a speakeasy-style restaurant below a basic taco stand of the same name. Reservations at a decent hour usually require two weeks notice, and catching someone on the reservation line is a matter luck. It is worth the effort. The dining room is downstairs, partly through the kitchen in what feels like an underground lair. In recent years I believe that took out tables to expand the bar area -- which is a negative for diners, but bars have higher profits than food. Speaking of which, the small plates are the best. The fondue, Acapulco cerviche (much better than the other cerviche), the Bistec tacos, the Pulpo (octopus) tostados are the definitely highlights. The service staff is great, but the wait staff is hit or miss. They are usually good, had one problem before, and most recently had a waitress that really tried to rush us. Our table ordered a bunch of small plates and said we might order more but wanted to see which ones we liked. She said she wanted us to order everything now because it was better for the kitchen. I understand if we were talking entrees, but not for small plates and appetizers. It was obvious she want to turn the tables over quickly for either more tips or to avoid a back-up of customers or both. Still, never had a restaurant pressure us to order all our small plates ahead of time, which we found rude. Anyway, the service is lacking at times, but the restaurant is great and highly recommended. Amazing atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good place - also for a fun family night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a great time at La Esquina.

- Managed to reserve in advance, no problems even for a large party of 8 thanks to some creativity and flexibility of the staff.
- Very special place, you can stay forever just having pre-drinks and margaritas, it is pretty interesting just chilling out and watching people in the lobby
- We got our table a bit later than expected - but were duly compensated with a round of free drinks.
- The very helpful staff quickly helped us to navigate the menu - and quickly offered the house special for larger parties, a custom mix of all the goodies that are available
- The food really lived up to expectations: grilled mexican corn, ceviche "acapulco", charred chipotle pork ribs etc. All delicious.
- Price-wise: The total bill for 8 people came to aroud USD 600 - not bad for the range of drinks and food we had.

Don't hesitate to make La Esquina part of your itinerary if you're trying out cool places to eat in NYC. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Best Mexican - EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were staying in Kenmare St @ Nolitan and decided to stop by here for an early dinner at 6pm.
Had read the rave reviews and hoped to score a table downstairs without a booking. What a great experience it was. After passing through the kitchen we headed to the bar for a fantastic blood orange margarita. After being seated, waitress recommended a starter of Queso fresco with banana chips avocado and salsa. Superb. Then the slow cooked chicken & stewed yuca tostadas followed by pulled pork and Mayan shrimp tacos!! Oh my.. Absolutely delicious. We thought Mamasita in Melbourne was the best Mex but this place blitzed it. Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I love it...breakfast to dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten at the cafe for brunch and downstairs for dinner several times, thanks to awesome friends in the city introducing it to me....Every meal I've ever had there is delightful! I actually crave it when I'm even thousands of miles away, it's that good. It's not your typical 'Mexican restaurant' no chips but its better! I'm a huge fan and I never had to make reservations...maybe that's because my friends do?lol but I always sweep in and from the friendly host to the waiters and food, all of it's great. Always charming, friendly and great food! I was kindly introduced to it years ago so I'm repaying the favor with this review...wish I was having dinner there tonight!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Esquina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Esquina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.