We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British - warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Owl

Little Owl
90 Bedford St, New York City, NY 10014-3764 (West Village)
212-741-4695
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Owl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Grove Street
Transit: Christopher Street Station
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“British - warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Travelled to US with 3 children in tow - 17, 15 and 12.
On entering the restaurant at 17:00 I though OMG it is quite formal -> but in a nice way. Relaxed service. We opted for the classic meat ball and fries - wow. My sense is that the magic ingredients is not the food but the New Yorkers who enjoy being there for the friendship and the quality experience. I was mindful we were not spending lots of $$, but as we left the mgr said
"meatballs and fries...the best option"- nice touch. With kids it was great, without kids it would be exceptional.
Not for young families though - thank you for your welcome

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    162
    60
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Great Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

At last....long last chips/French fries cooked the traditional way. Cannot rate Little Owl highly enough!!!! We had the burger and fries/chips.... I do have say we both declared the burger to be the best we had ever had and the fries/chips in a league of their own.... A definite must. Be aware this is a small restaurant, looked around to seat around 20 so booking is important so as not to be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I M P R E S S I V E”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent and hard to describe in words... We had a perfect evening. Great service and a u ique menu full of amazingly original and tasty dishes. We had the melon and tomatoes salad which was perfect and their salmon with mustard which was just delicious. The corn is also fantastic. The place has a nice homey vibe. Definitely recomended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had wanted to get into Little Owl before leaving UK but evening tables were not available. However whilst touring the Village we chanced a visit around 2pm and were lucky to find a table for four available!

The meatball sliders and lamb skewers were wonderful appetisers but the lobster risotto and spicy sauteed soft shell crab were exceptional. Throw in attentive but not overpowering service and a wonderfully relaxed vibe and you get the best meal we had in NYC.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“What to expect How to get a table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Consider tipping before your meal. Yes slip the hostess a tip and get the best available table, Book the early seating, before 6pm, We got the best table for three in the place at 5:30, also easier than at 7:30. Little Owl is tiny. Only 5 or 6 seats at the bar. Only 1 table for parties of 6 or more. Mostly tables for two that can be pushed together for 4, so keep it small. Use Opentable a week in advance and confirm your reservation.

Beer & Wine only, no cocktails. Nice selection of international reds and whites. We had the 2010 Buty Beast from Washington Columbia Valley at about a 3x markup, Enjoyed our choice but there are bottles under $50..

For starters Try the meatball sliders, a plate of 3.. They serve rustic bread and olive oil. We ordered the de-boned chicken, a house specialty. We don't usually order chicken but theirs is exceptional served on a nice bed of veggies. Speaking of veggies the sautéed Kale is great as are the Asaragus fries, another house specialty. Also ordered the grilled pork chop, perfection!

Staff was knowledgeable and did not rush. The beignets are great to share for dessert with a coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Owl also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Little Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Owl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.