We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Dinner with Son” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Owl

Little Owl
90 Bedford St, New York City, NY 10014-3764 (West Village)
212-741-4695
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Owl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 11,899 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Grove Street
Transit: Christopher Street Station
Hubbard, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner with Son”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The restaurant was very small which adds to its charm. You will need reservations. The menu isn't large but plenty of good food to pick from. I would recommend the meatball sliders, chicken and pork dishes. Superb!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essence_LittleOwl, Front Office Manager at Little Owl, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Donna,
Thank you for taking the time to submit this review on your visit with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed dinner! And happy belated to your son!
love,
the little owl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    144
    56
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Deliscious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I've ben there yesterday night, ate the lobster risotto, it was fantastic. I asked for some tomatoes that was very good also.
I'll recomend and will come back in the future.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Simple but awesome menu. Great friendly service. Nice comfortable setting.

Great value for money

Simple but awesome menu. Great friendly service. Nice comfortable setting.

Great value for money

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Be sure to make reservations because it is small and fills within minutes of opening at 5:00 p.m. The food is delicious, service great, be prepared to be a little squeezed in but not uncomfortably so. They make a great white sangria and have a nice whine list. It is the type of place that just makes you want to linger a while!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best lunches ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A must do! Little Owl is a very small (only seats about 30 people), quaint restaurant, so make a reservation if you plan to go. It is fairly casual, but everything about it is excellent. They have a good wine and beer menu, and the waiters are very attentive. Then there's the food... wow! We started out with the corn soup, which was very flavorful. My husband had the bacon cheeseburger, which sounds boring, but was one of the best straightforward burgers he has ever had! I had a pasta special with broccoli, corn, cheese, etc. and it was fabulous. We ended the meal with beignets on top of chocolate, drizzled with raspberry sauce. I will definitely eat here the next time I'm in town!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essence_LittleOwl, Front Office Manager at Little Owl, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Jennifer,
Thank you for submitting this review! So happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us (and that your hubby enjoyed our bacon cheeseburger!). Please pay us another visit when you're back in NYC.
love,
the little owl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Owl also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Little Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Owl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.