We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliscious food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Owl

Little Owl
90 Bedford St, New York City, NY 10014-3764 (West Village)
212-741-4695
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Owl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 11,426 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Grove Street
Transit: Christopher Street Station
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Deliscious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I've ben there yesterday night, ate the lobster risotto, it was fantastic. I asked for some tomatoes that was very good also.
I'll recomend and will come back in the future.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    173
    65
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Simple but awesome menu. Great friendly service. Nice comfortable setting.

Great value for money

Simple but awesome menu. Great friendly service. Nice comfortable setting.

Great value for money

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Be sure to make reservations because it is small and fills within minutes of opening at 5:00 p.m. The food is delicious, service great, be prepared to be a little squeezed in but not uncomfortably so. They make a great white sangria and have a nice whine list. It is the type of place that just makes you want to linger a while!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best lunches ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A must do! Little Owl is a very small (only seats about 30 people), quaint restaurant, so make a reservation if you plan to go. It is fairly casual, but everything about it is excellent. They have a good wine and beer menu, and the waiters are very attentive. Then there's the food... wow! We started out with the corn soup, which was very flavorful. My husband had the bacon cheeseburger, which sounds boring, but was one of the best straightforward burgers he has ever had! I had a pasta special with broccoli, corn, cheese, etc. and it was fabulous. We ended the meal with beignets on top of chocolate, drizzled with raspberry sauce. I will definitely eat here the next time I'm in town!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essence_LittleOwl, Front Office Manager at Little Owl, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Jennifer,
Thank you for submitting this review! So happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us (and that your hubby enjoyed our bacon cheeseburger!). Please pay us another visit when you're back in NYC.
love,
the little owl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning. Go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This place deserves all the plaudits it gets. You don't go here if you want formal dining: shorts and a T-shirt are fine. But, every element of the experience is wonderful, and you leave, desperate to return, and keen to recommend it to friends. We arrived for our reservation a few minutes early, and the table wasn't quite ready; but we were met with an apology and a free beer at the bar whilst we waited. Yet, we were sat in good time, the service was great, the wine glasses generous, and the food stunning. The sliders and the main course chicken were particularly note-worthy. There is an integrity and sheer quality to this place, and at prices that make you feel grateful, rather than strapped. Decide when you want to go, and book when the phone lines open one month in advance. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Owl also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Little Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Owl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.