We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to Start? - Everything was Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Owl

Little Owl
90 Bedford St, New York City, NY 10014-3764 (West Village)
212-741-4695
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Owl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Grove Street
Transit: Christopher Street Station
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Where to Start? - Everything was Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Picking a restaurant in NYC can be incredibly difficult. It seems there are scores of places that put out great plates on a nightly basis. The amazing thing about Little Owl is that they put out effortless great food without any attitude whatsoever. The food is light and clean and the service is excellent. One of the best meals I've ever had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    162
    60
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We enjoyed little owl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We went to little owl on a beautiful Sunday night. The food was simple and good...service was attentive. My only complaint was the restaurant was loud and we felt slightly rushed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Superb little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I ate here with my wife to celebrate our first year anniversary. The staff are friendly and the ambience was amazing. We got seated in an excellent location in the window and must have been photographed a hundred times by tourists photographing the building as it was used in the FRIENDS sitcom.

Couldn’t fault the meal at all. The black sea-bass was probably the best I’ve ever eaten.

The only negative issue was on leaving i was chased down the road by the manager and shouted at for not paying enough. When in fact I left more than enough to cover the bill and a good tip. I told him more than enough was there and when he counted it in front me i was correct. Rather than apologise he said the new bills must have been stuck together and walked off.

Overall, excellent meal, excellent location and courteous staff apart from the incident at the end which left me a little embarrassed in front of my wife and members of the public.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A tiny restaurant in the West Village...from the moment you walk in you want to stay... A warm welcome from a lovely hostess into a charming and inviting space, delicious food and good service. Comfort food with an edge...and a dining experience you won't forget.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The decor is sweet and very Village-y, the food is consistently good, and the creative cocktails come in interesting glasses. It's cozy and sunny and airy all at once. Go here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Owl also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Little Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Owl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.