We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietly tucked away, a fantastically worthwhile spot for a meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Owl

Little Owl
90 Bedford St, New York City, NY 10014-3764 (Manhattan)
212-741-4695
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Owl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Grove Street
Transit: Christopher Street Station
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quietly tucked away, a fantastically worthwhile spot for a meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was just walking around downtown and realized I was in the neighborhood near the Little Owl. Since I figured I might not have the chance to eat there most often due to heavy bookings, I just chanced it and stopped by in the mid-afternoon. They were shortly ending their lunch service, but offered me a single seat at the cramped bar. I don't care if I was hanging upside by my ears, honestly. What a great lunch! The service was awesome and attentive, even for a place as wildly busy as it was. My burger was one of the best I've had, and I think I'm kind of a connoisseur. This was definitely an awesome, unexpected surprise. I LOVE IT when a restaurant lives up to the hype. Many have not, The Little Owl, definitely did.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    138
    52
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Spectacular Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I would highly recommend this restaurant for brunch. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our brunch on a nice spring Sunday. We were promptly seated without reservations. The food was delicious. I ordered the whole wheat pancakes with fresh fruit, which were divine. My boyfriend ordered a burger, which was reported to be perfectly cooked and juicy. I didn't have any of the burger, but certainly enjoyed stealing his french fries. The staff/servers were incredibly attentive and polite. It is in such a cute neighborhood with some significant landmarks around (F.r.i.e.n.d.s building and the most narrowest apartment in NY). It is certainly a must and I look forward to going back for dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon feast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Loved the location and size of this tiny little restaurant, food was excellent - the team went out of their way to make the night a special one, with a complimentary glass of champagne on arrival!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just happened upon this gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I had read the glowing reviews, but didn't expect to dine here on our recent trip. Was thrilled when we happened upon it as we strolled thru a street fair in The Village. We weren't very hungry but I didn't want to pass up the opportunity and they had just opened for brunch. Hooray for us!! My sister and I shared the beignets and the meatball sliders. Both were delicious, but the meatball sliders are something special. Try them!! Restaurant is small and quaint, service was lovely. Would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An absolute GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you can get in, I would highly recommend this neighborhood spot. Delicious food, great service and while you wait for your seat you can venture to one of the cute wine bars around the corner or in the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Owl also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Little Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Owl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.