We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Achieve Guest House

Achieve Guest House
Achieve Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Achieve Guest House to your Saves list
Achieve Guest House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 E 126th St, btwn 5th Ave & Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10035 (Harlem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #414 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The landlord definitely must have retouched the pictures he sent to me upfront. But if you take a closer look, it is horrible. I stayed in the 'Radio City' room for $3000/month because I was on business trip and was very busy and no time to search for some other room. But the room is absolutely cheap furnished and dirty. Not once the room got maintained and cleaned during my whole stay. When I moved in, one of the closets was filled with detergent. The aircondition and the shower head I had to sanitize with a spray I bought, because the air smelled absolutely bad while operating.
The mattress, the pillow and the bed blanket, everything smelled dingy and never washed or changed. The sheets and towels smelled like moth balls. I bought a bug protection for the mattress and slept on my own sheets, never used his stuff.

Room Tip: Don't ever book in Harlem. It is a poor and dirty area and rediculous expensive. They take you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We booked this hotel 2 months in advance and was confirmed for a room with 2 queen sized beds. We called to find out if we could check out late and was told they "decided" to just put us in a room with a bunk bed. Then we had a lot of hassle to cancel the reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

I've stayed at many, inexpensive places, in NYC and I always expect the same drab accommodations and I've never written about any of them since you get what you pay for - however, this place was totally different.

The staff were so attentive and caring. Whatever I needed was given to me. They were sooooo sweet. If I needed more towels I would receive them in a heart beat - I can't say enough of the staff there.

Moreover, the place was very very clean and when I arrived they had just finished remodeling some of the rooms - so I arrived in a freshly painted two toned room with very nice updated furnishings.

I can't say enough good things about the space and the people there. I would highly recommend this place for anyone visiting NYC.

  • Liked — Staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — 2 blocks from train - wish it was closer
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

The staff (Angelo & Christina) were fantastic and very helpful. The rooms are clean, but there needs to be more of an investment in paint/linens. The amenities listed were either not there, had to be asked for and provided by the staff or broken. It is not an area to be traveled in at night, but safe during the daytime. The rooms do not have phones, the cable T.V. is fuzzy and the computer didn't work and had to be fixed by us! The rooms are secure and for the most part quiet. Be prepared to walk as the neighbourhood is far from midtown.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

What I loved about this place is that it is IMMACULATELY clean, the staff of two, who live on the premises where so very friendly. It was decorated very nicely.

I rented their smallest room but they had a few different styles. Anthony, who is the caretaker there and extremely friendly, showed me (for a future stay) their 975 sq foot private apartment which is HUGE and decorated so nicely. Although, that apt was not as much as I'd like to spend, but the price was definitely less expensive than a hotel and moreover, if you are thinking of traveling with 6 people I would definitely advise you to take the apt - extremely inexpensive that way.

In a nutshell, the place was extremely clean, the doors were all electronic (made me feel very safe), the staff very friendly, and their body wash and shampoo smelled soooooo good. I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — hmmm, can't think of anything.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Achieve Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achieve Guest House

Address: 36 E 126th St, btwn 5th Ave & Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10035
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #414 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Hotel Class:2 star — Achieve Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Achieve Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Achieve Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.