We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Night Hotel Theater District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Night Hotel Theater District to your Saves list
Night Hotel Theater District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights after a 6 week trip around the USA and the staff at this hotel are probably the nicest out of all the hotels we stayed in. Regarding the hotel, it was ok. Small which is normal, but it drives me crazy when a hotel doesn't provide a fridge or a kettle, which this hotel doesn't. It was extremely clean and there intention of being a sexy hotel didn't really hit the mark, but we weren't there for that reason. All in all great stay with a great location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Night Hotel Theater District, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Ally R,

Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay with us! I’ll be sure to relay your comments to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Peter Komorowski
Front Office Supervisor
pkomorowski@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    510
    179
    99
    35
See reviews for
96
774
116
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending 2 nights there recently. What a great experience. The staff is attentive and caters to your every wish. I liked the fact that it was a smaller, boutique style hotel yet offered a comfortable, quiet room in the midst of the chaos of Times Square literally a half a block away. The bar/restaurant on the main floor was great place to relax and the food was great and there was a great vibe in the bar. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Night Hotel Theater District, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear ZachyBoy,

Thank you for your incredible review!! It is always nice to hear such wonderful feedback. We will make sure we share with our staff.

Regards

Peter Komorowski
Front Office Supervisor
pkomorowski@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Night Hotel during our short 1 night say in NYC. We were met by Simon and helped with our stuff to our lovely room!
It was really spacious and really comfortable! Members of the front desk team were really friendly, however when we asked about bus tours we were recommended one company and it seemed to be the most expensive out of any that we could have booked on the street.
When returning to our room we were really surprised to see a nice bottle of sparkling wine on ice, just what we needed after a lengthy walk around the City! It was really appreciated!
We would definitely stay at this hotel again when returning to NYC and would recommend it for couples and adult parties!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Night Hotel Theater District, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Nikki184,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed the room and the service provided by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Peter Komorowski
Front Office Supervisor
pkomorowski@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed at Night Hotel twice in one week.

I would like to thank the team at Night Hotel for attending to our requirements in a very hospitable and flexible manner. A few previous reviews left different reviews but , but as far as our stay was concerned, it was nearly perfect and I can't find any fault. Not only the front of house guest services agents we came across, but also back of the house staff members even the security person were all nice and friendly.
In my opinion it is ultimately the people that make or break it, not the facilities.

Staff / Customer Service
We made 2 bookings via a travel agent, first for 2 nights and second one for 1 night. Prior to our departure from Sydney, we contacted the hotel via their facebook page to reconfirm our bookings, they reconfirmed them straight away. We did this because we normally book things by ourselves but for Night Hotel, we used a travel agent so we wanted to be sure.

For our first stay however, we got stranded in San Francisco upon transiting because United cancelled our flight. As a result we were put up in a hotel by them in SFO Airport that night, which meant we could only arrive the following day at Night Hotel, i.e. our stay was to be shortened from 2 nights to 1 night.
We contacted them via Facebook, no problem at all, they revised our booking and even told us they would not be charging us for the cancelled night (which we will tell our travel agent so they can refund us the money for the night). This all happened on the day of our original check-in date so I would have expected no-refund. So this was a very nice gesture by the hotel.
Upon check-in, the receptionist was friendly and showed his empathy as to our inconvenience of having to change our booking plan at the last minute. He did mention the mini-bar was very sensitive and advised us to be careful, which we were.

Room/Bar
The room/decor etc are exactly what photos on this forum show, yes the room was small and there was virtually no significant view from the window.
But it is New York and we didn't choose this hotel for the size of the room or view through the window. The cleanliness was perfect (which is important to us), we were given free WiFi and the connection was pretty good. If for whatever reason, you aren't given free WiFi and you don't want to pay for it, there's a Starbucks literally 1 minute walk from the hotel's entrance.

The bathroom was spacious enough, with more than adequate amenities and a good strong shower.
The air-con unit is "not quiet" but we didn't care. It was not "noisy" and it worked fine. We appreciated the cool breeze coming out of it.

We used the lobby bar one night and enjoyed a few cocktails. The staff members were again friendly and made sure everything was good for us.

Our rooms were on the mid-level (level 3 and 4 I think), so we mainly took the stairs next to the lift to get to/from our rooms. But the lift was fast too, we just didn't mind walking up and down the stairs.

In between our two stays
We asked the hotel to hold one of our bags between our two stays (there was a 3 night gap in between). They were more than happy to have our bag stored with no charge!

Check-out
On the day of departure (of our 2nd and final stay), check-out was smooth and the receptionist was informative and helpful. We had to go to Grand Central Station and we were initially thinking of taking a cab but the receptionist assured us that even with our bags it would be very close and easy to get to. He also showed us exactly which street/avenue to take.

Location
As almost all reviews have written, if your priority is to stay close to/within Times Square district at a quite reasonable (by NYC standard) price, I would happily recommend Night Hotel. It is on 45th Street, close to all the theatres (such as Lion King, that's on the same street), Times Square, Forever 21 (shopping!) etc.

Overall, as mentioned we enjoyed our stay and would definitely look to Night Hotel for our next visit to New York.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Night Hotel Theater District, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear JimmySydney01,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback about your stay with us! I’ll be sure to relay your comments to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Peter Komorowski
Front Office Supervisor
pkomorowski@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here again on a recent trip to the Big Apple! Great location and perfect if you like shopping and theatre as well as an abundance of dining choices. Very courteous and helpful staff always makes me feel good when away from home. Thank you Night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Night Hotel Theater District, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear LordShowbiz,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback of your stay with us here at Night Hotel. I will be certain to pass it on to all of our department heads to share with their staff. Receiving feedback like yours is what we strive for and this motivates our staff to do their best.

Kind regards,

Peter Komorowski
Front Office Supervisor
pkomorowski@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at this hotel. We are a couple in our sixties and were on holiday with my son, daughter in law and grandchild. The decor is black and white, which we knew about. What we did not expect was the lights under the bed, a window that only looked into the space between the two buildings and extremely noisy air con. Saying all that, we were upgraded to a larger room, the rooms were clean, the staff were pleasant and the location was good.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window that does not look onto the void between the buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Night Hotel Theater District, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear haldensnin,

Thank you for posing your review.
We are sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations.
If you want to share more with us about your experience please e-mail me directly at pkomorowski@nighthotelny.com

Regards

Peter Komorowski
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent 6 nights at the hotel, all in all it was ok ,but I would advise the following: The rooms are small, noisy AC units, tiles were missing in the shower it is a little run down.

Happy hour is good, food is also good an the location is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Night Hotel Theater District, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear S7N,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Night Hotel.
Please allow me to inform you that we have multiple room categories available from Full Size to PH suite. I am sure that you would be able to find a room that is big enough for you.
In the coming months our rooms will be refurbished and bathrooms are on the to do list.

Regards

Peter Komorowski
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Night Hotel Theater District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Night Hotel Theater District

Address: 132 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Night Hotel Theater District 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Accommodations in the Heart of Gotham. Find inspiration in the pulse and passion of Gotham after dark at Night New York - a boutique hotel in Times Square and a study in urban Gothic aesthetics. Here, you will disappear into a realm of playful contrasts, from the black-and-white checkerboard floor in the lobby to the invitingly guest rooms and suites. Enjoy the excitement of Times Square. See a show just steps away in the Theater District. Allow Night to summon the aura of a stylish private residence in the heart of NYC. Voted Sexist hotel in America by TripAdvisor Editors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Night Hotel Theater District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Night Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Night Hotel Theater District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.