We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were robbed....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #363 of 458 Hotels in New York City
London, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We were robbed....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When we visited this hotel years ago we were robbed and to top it off treated like crap! We reported you to better business bureau! You did nothing to help us didn't even offer a new room and you darn well knew the door had been broken we were left feeling violated and that we could not leave our room again. We were only gone for maybe 2 hours when this happened so 100% it was staff that did it and they knew our door was not working or had a card to get in! I will never forget how we were treated and when we do return you will NEVER have our business EVER again! I hope you have started treating your guest better since this happened and fired the untrustworthy people that work for you! STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE! Thank goodness we did not leave anything too valuable in the room as we know better...but they did steal our camera that was really old but sadly had all our pics on it so we had only a few pics for memories of this trip! Also they stole my fake costume jewelery and my glasses which was a pain since I can not see without them! Really disappointed mostly in how we were treated like scum after! Which we are not! We would have left a very generous tip and great review...

Room Tip: Make sure you look has not been tampered with! The staff are sketchy and watch when you come and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    659
    557
    296
    268
See reviews for
412
804
190
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Reading the reviews I was wary but my experience was great. No problems with my room. Staff was good. Great location. $30 parking for 24 hours. Free breakfast although I wasn't awake in time to eat any. I was on the second floor so I took the steps instead of waiting for the lift which I think was great.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

In town for business needed a place to stay for one night. I wanted somewhere close to some tourist attractions as it was my first visit to NYC. This place was perfect, not too expensive, great location, and comfy & clean room. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The rooms were extremely small rooms and had a smell that I just couldn't get used to. My friend was claustrophobic. The wall was slanted, so the TV only faced one bed. When we checked in, the front desk clerk was on the phone and ignored us.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time we have stayed here the first time was in 2012
and we had a very enjoyable stay .Locations is excellent.
Unfortunately the second time round was not so great the hotel is starting to look very tired and is in desperate need a repair. We stayed for 3 nights we had to move rooms 3 times as there was either no heating or the hot water was not working and it was -4 outside. The wifi signal was also almost no extant and we had to use a near by restaurants wifi .

Used to be a nice place now its falling apart.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Daniel S,

Thank you for choosing Best Western and for your review of our property. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently in the process of remodeling our rooms to fix some of the problems that you have mentioned. I would like to invite you back to stay with us after our renovation is complete.

If you would like to speak with me further about your stay please contact me at 212-632-9006.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Small,comfortable hotel near Times Square. Many of important da basic places near there. shops; starbucks...theatre, even the night club. rooms are clear;enough area.but people in reception not so friendly to costumers:) I spent 10days amazing days there. It's so plesent to walk down the times square.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Khatia Q,

Thank you for choosing Best Western and for your review of our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again and we hope to see you again in the future. If you haven't already please joined our Best Western Rewards program to earn valuable points for your stay.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here whilst visiting for a week. It's a great hotel, rooms are good, and lovely reception area. Great value for money. You can't go wrong with this hotel. Close to all local amenities, it's a good hotel to base yourself at whilst visiting for a short break or business trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jim B,

Thank you for choosing Best Western and for your review of our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind comments on our location and value.

We hope you will stay with us again and we hope to see you again in the future. If you haven't already please joined our Best Western Rewards program to earn valuable points for your stay.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Address: 234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location in the heart of Times Square, steps from Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building-Guest rooms featuring; free wireless internet, flat screen televisions, free local phone calls, in-room coffee makers, i-home docking stations, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room safe. On-Site Fitness Center, Business Center, Conference Room- Two Restaurants, Lobby Bar, Room Service - 44 Suites with sleeper sofas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Groupon, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President Hotel New York
Best Western Nyc
Best Western Hotel Nyc
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western President New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.