We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #354 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights (April 2014). Although the room wasn't very big, it was clean, comfortable, had air conditioning, coffee making facilities and had a powerful shower.

We were on the 8th floor and did not experience any road noise, which was good.

The bathroom was very clean, but did have a urine smell coming from somewhere in there. We did not have a safety deposit box and though they were willing to move us next day to a room which did, by the time we'd unpacked, we decided to stay put and used our lockable suitcase as our 'safe'.

We paid $58 (set taxi fare) from JFK Airport to the hotel (don't forget you have to add 15% tip). When you arrive at JKF, they advise you to use only use yellow registered taxi's. When we were leaving the Best Western hotel, the doorman recommended the hotel's at $60 - only an extra $2 + tip again, but if money is tight at the end of your holiday, be ready for this suggestion. We didn't like to say no and paid the extra.

Overall, very satisfied.

Room Tip: If you want a safety deposit box, please stress this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We are sorry about the safety box not working. We are glad the room was clean and comfortable. We hope you will stay with us again if you ever come back to New York in the future.


Thank you,

Mary P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    595
    494
    260
    239
See reviews for
363
726
179
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

seriously about one minute walk from times square! I was so happy with this hotel.
The rooms were nice and tidy. The staff were helpful.
There is not really much more I can say about it. I went to new york for the sights so was only in the hotel to sleep. it was a nice experience in the perfect place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our great location and friendly staff. We hope you will stay with us again if you ever come back to New York in the future.

Thank you,


Mary P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here over the weekend at the end of March. Booked on points so it wasnt bad.

The hotel is perfectly situated next to times square and a few steps away from all the action, restaurants, and the subway.

It was a tad odd as the hotel bar also doubled as the bag check area and the check in area was right next to it, almost on top. Expect $6 beers at the bar.

The room was ok , not as small as I thought but not huge by any standards but it did fit a king bed and a chair with ottoman in there. The bathroom was fine except there was a standalone sink and no counter to put stuff on and no hooks anywhere.

The a/c wasa huge problem. It was winter so presumably the heat was on but we coudlnt manage to control the system so it turned into a sauna the first night there making sleeping impossible and very uncomfortable. We had to crack and leave a window open the next day so we could come back to a coldish room.
Second night was also a problem with ac.

Parking is around the corner and its at $30 a day. Cheap fr NYC standards. No in and out btw,

There is a theater and a convenience store as well as a restaurant bar pub place right next door.

If you need to use the computers there, be warned, I had to print my boarding pass and not only did it take 3 elevators to get to the business center in the basement but it was like $2 for 10 minutes of computer usage and its a $2 minimum, the first time i went down i only had a $1 so i put that in thinking ill run up to my room quick and come bac with another, and the machine ddint even spit it out, it ate it when i came down i had to put in another $2. For the price of the hotel youd think an office computer would be free to guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Friendly staff, very clean, the shower was very powerful, bathroom was a bit small. The beds were very comfy. Location was excellent, everything in walking distance. We would definitely stay here again next time we visit NYC xx

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The location of this property to Times Square, central park, the garment district and restaurant row is incredible! You can walk to anywhere. The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay at this property again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The pros: location amazingly good. A hundred feet from the Times Square, near the Hershey's store. The building is old but is in good conditions. The room is very small but confortable but it's worth the price. It's a good place to sleep, not to spend your time. Near to dozens of small restaurants, cafes, laundry, markets and stores.

The cons: The hairdryer and the heater were extremely dirty and I don't recommend using them. During the night (usually until 11:45 PM), the service elevator is used for the laundry and it's loud and noisy (reminds me of Lost's smoke monster, seriously). Rooms beside the service elevator (800, 900 and all ending in *00) are affected. Staff was well-educated, not kind -- no problem.

I would recommend the hotel for people looking for a place to sleep (nothing else) while travelling to NY

Room Tip: Don't pick rooms ending *00 (800,900), which are near the noisy service elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The room was dirty. The carpet had gum on it that was very old. The shower did not work properly and the sink was filthy . I would recommend a competitors hotel such as the Hilton which is right around the corner. If you want to be in the theater district there are many other stay options for the same money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Address: 234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location in the heart of Times Square, steps from Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building-Guest rooms featuring; free wireless internet, flat screen televisions, free local phone calls, in-room coffee makers, i-home docking stations, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room safe. On-Site Fitness Center, Business Center, Conference Room- Two Restaurants, Lobby Bar, Room Service - 44 Suites with sleeper sofas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President Hotel New York
Best Western Nyc
Best Western Hotel Nyc
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western President New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.