We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An A+Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #355 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Amherst, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An A+Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Super modern and intimate boutique hotel in the heart of Times Square area. Fit our needs for a 2 bedroom place for 2 college age kids traveling with mom and dad. Nice side street location- quieter and close to subways,theaters and restaurants. Adequate hot breakfast daily served til 10:30 was a nice touch. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear 1959Sue,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our great location and helpful front desk staff.

We hope you will stay with us again and we thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    595
    494
    260
    239
See reviews for
363
726
179
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, Usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The rooms are extremely small and are surface cleaned. Hallways are narrow and dark; only the lobby appears to be up to 21st century standards if expectations. Decor is a poor attempt at being modern with cheap, cheesy, furniture. I would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Thoroughly impressed not only with the quality of the hotel, but the over the top cheerful, friendly, and helpful staff. Sure the rooms aren't sprawling layouts, you're in Manhattan! But I felt the room was more than enough to feel at home for a couple nights stay. 1st time staying at this location. I will definitely using this place again to come see broadway shows etc.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My daughter and I stayed recently for 5 nights. The hotel is in a brilliant location, just steps from Time Square. The staff are friendly and efficient. Check in was very quick and easy. Our first room was very small but there was no problem changing to a larger room. Our room was spotless and had everything we needed. There was a flat screen TV, tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom had a very good shower and plenty of fresh towels and toiletries. There was enough room for our luggage and good storage space. There was an in room safe also. There is a nice cocktail bar in the foyer. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I was cautious of this place due to the generally negative Tripadvisor reviews, but didn't need to be. It's not exactly Buckingham Palace but you have to bear in mind this is in Times Square - considering the price I don't quite understand the complaints. Room was small but otherwise fine. Free wifi throughout the hotel, staff were friendly and there was nothing awful. Decor was interesting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was my second visit to the Best Western President having visited here in 2011, and another positive experience! I was once again wowed with the lobby decor and AMAZED at what I will always remember as the speediest check in ever! The front desk swiped my credit card, handed me a room key and I was in my room in minutes!! This trip, my room was small (but a little large than most NYC rooms), but very clean and tidy. I wish I had not been given a room directly in front of the elevators (which meant hearing voices of other guests waiting for the elevator quite often). And I wish I had hot water in the shower (It was warm, not hot)--but I'm sure this was an isolated incident. Best of all is the location of this hotel--just off Times Sq, but closer to 8th avenue. JUST PERFECT! I absolutely will stay here again. The location, the value, the design--certainly consider the President!

Room Tip: Room 628 was just off the elevators. You might want to ask the front desk to avoid giving you a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

They do not fit in a double bed ! Make sure you book a king size bed . Otherwise the rooms are small but well appointed with ironing board and hairdryer. Location is perfect for theater district . They now serve an adequate breakfast for $14 with very limited space. No individual special attention here! You are part of the crowd. But for the price this is fine. Internet is iffy at times.
At all times of the day you will find cleaning carts or vacuum cleaners in the hall near the elevator. It does not give you a good feeling somehow.

Room Tip: Room 324 is small with a double bed on a noisy street but on a L shape end of hallway ,only one adja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Ondine21,

Thank you for your review of our property. Thank you for mentioning our great location. We do have larger rooms available such as our Deluxe rooms and Suites if you require more room and larger beds. We hope you will stay with us again if you ever come back to New York in the future.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Address: 234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location in the heart of Times Square, steps from Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building-Guest rooms featuring; free wireless internet, flat screen televisions, free local phone calls, in-room coffee makers, i-home docking stations, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room safe. On-Site Fitness Center, Business Center, Conference Room- Two Restaurants, Lobby Bar, Room Service - 44 Suites with sleeper sofas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President Hotel New York
Best Western Nyc
Best Western Hotel Nyc
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western President New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.