We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some glitches but super convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Best Western Plus) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #371 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“some glitches but super convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Room clean but very small. Bathroom tiny. Housekeeping inconsistent when answering requests for towels and washcloths. (Only one each day altho two staying in room.) To be fair, we did not contact front desk with our requests but left note for maid.

But the best news: it is ideally situated in the theater district and close to bus stops and subway for exploring museums and other attractions. Even with small annoyances I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear xylophoneandsSax,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our great location. I am sorry you did not receive enough towels during your stay. I will be talking to our Housekeeping Department to correct this.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time your in NY.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    751
    635
    328
    309
See reviews for
478
914
207
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have jusr arrived from NYC, staying in a twin beds room at this hotel.
My experience has been really good. We were at 12th floor and everything was even better tan expected: clean, stylish, in the very heart of the city and a very good Price found thanks to booking

Room Tip: We could see that - maybe- twin beds rooms are a bit bigger. From the hotel you can ask for a shuttl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Kebarim,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our great location and value.

We hope you will stay with us again if you ever come back to the big apple.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in several Best Western Hotels across the country, mostly BW Plus, and can say this one is just doesn't have the crisp touches required by the brand. The level of cleanliness is only slightly below par, but certainly could be improved. Some notables: a lobby floor which stayed uncleaned all weekend and some minor mold issues in the bathroom. The real problem is upkeep of the rooms. The shabby tattered furniture, spots of walls in half state of repair,and several issues in my room. I don't like calling for help, but had no choice because the TV wouldn't change channels;neither with a remote nor manually. The fix required a master remote and simple reprogram of channels, but should have been attended to before the room was released. The guy also went behind the bed to plug in my nightstand lamp. Again ,it should have been checked by housekeeping. The rattly,rusty, tattered and dirty air conditioning unit hardly worked , but I didn't have time for another interruption, so I just suffered. The Lobby looks as though it was remodeled within 5 years, and the decor is not entirely offensive. The decor in the halls, however, well forgive the phrase favored by my teenage kids ,but OMG LOL .They have purple ceilings and trim with the gaudiest purple flower print wallpaper ever manufactured......But hey it is in Times Square....You can walk to the theatre. Just wouldn't be fair to the others who do follow brand standards if I were to not complain.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear chad h,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have managers on duty most of the day to try and help you through every challenge. If you would like to speak with me further about your stay please contact me at 212-632-9006.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

You read reports, and OMG, can you be serious. This hotel is in the heart of NYC........the city that never sleeps......so think about that BEFORE you book, and then go on to "slate" the hotel.
Check In - quick, simple......very welcoming. Remember, it's not all about them, being nice is a two way thing. You are not entitled to an upgrade, if you want one, then book it at the time of booking.
Lifts - quick, and easy to use.
Room -(520). Not the biggest, but had everything we wanted. Managed a soak in the bath, and I am 6ft. Iron, board, hair drier. Coffee maker. Room was clean, and cleaned daily. We had one "small issue" which was dealt with swiftly, and fully resolved.
Area - busy, busy, busy. Fab for everything. Subway, Broadway, Central Park, Bars. Go to Stitch Bar, down to 37th between 7th and 8th........great place.
We took the subway, and got on the L train to Williamsburg. Let's you see the real NY. Bars were amazing......try the Isle Of Skye, as for Scott.
Overall, 100% satisfied.
Tip, try the box office for each show, we got tickets for Mamma Mia $59 each, excellent price. Tell them you have a email from Telecharge, offering cheap tickets for $59, worked for us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here in February 2014. The location is great! Restaurants, bars, breakfast places, shops, subway stations, bus stations etc. are all within a few blocks.

The check-in process was quick and the reception staff was courteous. The look and feel of the lobby could definitely be improved. It was dark and gloomy with strange blue lighting.

The elevators were rickety and could use some maintenance. We were fortunately on a higher floor and I was glad since the street noise was not that audible. The passageway leading to our room was quite narrow and it kept me wondering how someone a bit healthier would make their way through along with luggage.

The rooms were quite small as expected with most Manhattan hotel rooms. The decor, furniture & fixtures and electrical fittings left much to be desired but were working and served their purpose just fine.

The highlight for us was the small patio adjoining our room. It was perfect for us to enjoy the snowfall!

For the location, I think the price we paid for this hotel was ok.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willards
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We found our two rooms (queen suites) to be more than adequate and roomy. After all, we were only there to sleep! The beds were comfy, the room was clean. Hotel staff was helpful. Close proximity to theaters and Times Square is another selling point for this hotel. And to top it off......the price was GREAT!!!!! Did not use restaurant on site, but there are plenty of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Nice hotel in awesome location at a super reasonable price. Staff was exteremely friendly and helpful, which is a nice change from other NYC hotels. Lovely lobby. Free internet. All the theaters are within a 2-3 city-block walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South
TRYP by Wyndham Times Square Sou...
#137 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,379 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#189 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#348 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#345 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,089 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#297 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 6,116 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#325 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square

Address: 234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location in the heart of Times Square, steps from Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building-Guest rooms featuring; free wireless internet, flat screen televisions, free local phone calls, in-room coffee makers, i-home docking stations, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room safe. On-Site Fitness Center, Business Center, Conference Room- Two Restaurants, Lobby Bar, Room Service - 50 Suites with bunk beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President Hotel New York
Best Western Hotel Nyc
Best Western Nyc
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western President New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.