We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Best Western Plus) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #371 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Willards
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We found our two rooms (queen suites) to be more than adequate and roomy. After all, we were only there to sleep! The beds were comfy, the room was clean. Hotel staff was helpful. Close proximity to theaters and Times Square is another selling point for this hotel. And to top it off......the price was GREAT!!!!! Did not use restaurant on site, but there are plenty of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    750
    634
    328
    308
See reviews for
476
914
207
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Nice hotel in awesome location at a super reasonable price. Staff was exteremely friendly and helpful, which is a nice change from other NYC hotels. Lovely lobby. Free internet. All the theaters are within a 2-3 city-block walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Friends and I recently stayed at this hotel, and the best part of our stay, was how close the hotel was to Times Square. It was so easy to get around the city from here!
The service at the hotel was really horrible. The staff did not make you feel welcome at all. Our check in was done by Alfonso, who was rude, and did actually tell us anything about the hotel, just handed us a bit paper. When asked where the lift was and how to get to our room, he pointed behind us and very sarcastically said "there". We asked for tea bags and milk, and we given a couple of tea bags and was told there was no chance of us getting any milk.
The next morning we waited for up to 5 minutes at the front desk before we were actually acknowledged by the night manager, and all we wanted was some directions on which subway train to catch to get the Statue of Liberty ferry.
Later in the week, I asked reception, and once Alfonso was on, to help us book a shuttle to the airport. He looked at me, pointed to my hand in which I was holding my phone, and he told me I can book a shuttle on my phone. He did not want to help at all.
I was eventually told that concierge could help me tomorrow. When speaking with the concierge the next day, he looked half asleep at his desk, and blatantly told us there was no chance in us ever getting a taxi as we were leaving so early in the morning, so the only thing to do would be to get a private car. We felt so ripped off the next morning when we were waiting for our private car, and numerous taxis drove past the hotel.
The standards of housekeeping were not much better. Everyday there was something that was not replaced. First it started with the cups, then it was the face washers an hand towels. If we wanted them, we had to ask, and that always felt as if we were bugging them.
Although, the staff were happy to give us extra towels an shampoo.
There was a day when our beds were not made properly, and that a pillow case, and other linen that were clearly not for our room, were left by housekeeping in our room.
Our room was always so hot, that we had to keep a window open all the time, just so it could cool down slightly.
As people who work in the hospitality industry, the standard of service was not very good, and management should really look at this, and especially with the way housekeeping clean stay rooms.
If we ever provided the service we received in our workplaces, we would not have a job today.
If we were ever to return to NYC, we will not be staying at this hotel, and will certainly not be recommending this property to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over valantines weekend and the best thing abput the hotel by far is the location! Just off times square and close to tge subway perfect.
The room its self was small and tiny by American standards comparable to a travel lodge here in the UK! The room had everything you needed but was a little old in places and could do with a 'deep clean' in my opinion as it was a little neglected!
But since we were only in new York for a weekend we spent very little time in the room and tge bed was super comfy! The heating in the room was good and there was a coffee machine!
The biggwst negative I felt was the lack of customer service in tge hotel which I've never experienced before in the US no real welcome and I experienced quite rude attitudes to other guests!
If you are just looking for a place to rest your head while exploring NYC this place is in a good location and if you get it at a good price I'd recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

If you reserve through Priceline and require 2 beds, expect to put up a good fight unless you want to pay an extra $50 per night.
If you need an extra cot, don't bother. It's an inflatable mattress ($10 extra per night) that doesn't hold air.
We had to request towels from room service because they gave us none. The room was stiflingly hot and the lighting terrible.
That being said, I definitely got what I paid for. I probably would not stay here again but the price was right and the location perfect.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear NotaShrub,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We only have our standard room with one double bed negotiated with Priceline. We suggest that if you need other room types to contact the hotel directly as to what you require so we can get you the correct room type. Do to that fact that the rooms with two beds are larger than the ones with one it may be a higher rate for the night. Please contact us directly at 212-246-8800 if you would like to book again so we can reserve you the room needed.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you are looking for a doorman, valet parking etc two blocks from Times Square, and a price tag to match, keep looking. If you are looking for a clean, safe environment with a responsive staff and ~$200/nite for a family of four (1 bed, one pull-out), this is your place. We had a room in the back, which was quiet until the last morning (8a jack-hammer on the roof two bldgs over, but we were getting ready for our daily adventure anyways, so who cares?). Nice bed, no bedbugs. Extra blankets delivered in minutes, who can complain! The decor is funky, so this is not going to be like (my) home, but isn't that the point of going somewhere for vacation? A big thumbs up for value, location and the George Washington bust light. Extra pluses for cool HUGE fish tank behind the front desk and cheap luggage storage for your last day in town ($1 per bag in NYC!).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear BarbBronder ,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to provide the best value in the Times Square area.

We hope you will stay with us again the next time you travel to New York City.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I can't say I was disappointed with this hotel, as we pretty much knew what we were getting when we booked the room- a good cheap hotel in a great location, which is exactly what this was. We got a very small room, that was clean and had a comfy bed. The heat in the room wasn't working, but there was already an electric heater in the room when we arrived, which because of the small size was able to do the trick. No real perks or extras here- but because its literally a 30 second walk to Times Square, we rarely spent time in our room anyways. For a 2 night stay in Times Square, it was suitable, which is all we were looking for. Anything longer that that- I'd recommend something with more amenities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear RIBrian1,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our great location. We are located right in the heart of Times Square where most of the attractions here in New York City are located.

We hope you will stay with us again if you ever come back to New York in the future.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South
TRYP by Wyndham Times Square Sou...
#139 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,375 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#187 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#348 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#346 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,072 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#297 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 6,104 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#325 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square

Address: 234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location in the heart of Times Square, steps from Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building-Guest rooms featuring; free wireless internet, flat screen televisions, free local phone calls, in-room coffee makers, i-home docking stations, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room safe. On-Site Fitness Center, Business Center, Conference Room- Two Restaurants, Lobby Bar, Room Service - 50 Suites with bunk beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President Hotel New York
Best Western Hotel Nyc
Best Western Nyc
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western President New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.