We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is what you are getting... nothing else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #360 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Waterville, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location is what you are getting... nothing else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I spent our anniversary here taking in a few Broadway shows. We loved the location! Easy to get back to the room on a rainy day. However, the room was dirty (socks and garbage under the bed), WiFi did not work well from our room, heating system not working so a portable heater was provided, and strange odors in the flamboyantly purple hallways.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    643
    538
    290
    257
See reviews for
394
785
188
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alstonville, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here over Thanksgiving. Had stayed here previously in May 2011.The location is fantastic. Room sizes average but hey you are in NYC!! We had 5 of us in a room that had 2 queen beds and a sofa bed and it was cosy but not uncomfortable. Price is very competitive... we always try to book well in advance. The location is an absolute winner. Not even a 5 min walk to Times Square and Broadway. Will stay here again... maybe for New Years Eve!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are average but the hot water is lacking with noisy pipes. The heat wouldn't go lower than 77 but the window would open to cool things off. The towels were like rags and there were some leftover jeans in the closet but hey, this is NY.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at the President Plus for 3 nights prior to our Caribbean cruise.
Booking was made through Hotwire.co.uk (wouldn’t do this again!).
Was reading not very good reports about this hotel so decided to email them to voice my concerns.
Their replies were rapid, courteous and helpful.
We did stay in this hotel once before in 2007 and the new layout in the foyer etc. is very nice in comparison to then.
When we checked in the reception staff were very polite and friendly and continued to be this way throughout our stay.
Our room was 1316 (if I remember well!)and we are sure that this is actually a single room and not a double. It was very small with a barely double bed and the bathroom only had one set of towels etc.
However, on the plus side everything else ticked all the requests I had asked for. i.e. quiet location on an upper floor away from the elevators. The room was equipped with all the items as per their website and most important it was very clean and in good working order. (Think it had been recently refurbished). As it was late (with time changes for us) and we were tired from our journey from Spain, we decided not to mess about with trying to change rooms as we were only there for 3 nights and did not intend to spend too much time in the room.
Had we been there just for a New York weekend (with the exception of the bed size) it would have been fine. We had a lot of luggage with us for the cruise, so we were a bit pushed for space!
A word of praise for the man in charge of servicing our room. Not only did he immediately find us extra towels, etc. but the next day, without being asked, when he saw I’d turned over a waste paper basket to use on my side of the bed, he found a small round table for me.
Didn’t use any of the hotel facilities, nor did we have breakfast there.
The location of this hotel is amazing and we would probably stay there again providing we could get a better size room at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Hotel was a great location. Better hotels would be much more expensive but this place provides value for money. There is quite a lot of variability in rooms, i had a much smaller room than my friend.

No real complaints.

Room Tip: Ask to check rooms before you commit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Shanghai_Stef,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad that you saw our hotel as a good value for your money. We do have many different room types at our hotel. We do have larger rooms available such as our Deluxe rooms and Suites if you require more room.

We hope you will stay with us again if you ever come back to NYC in the future.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I don't even know where to begin- From the check-in- to the 20 minute later check out and cancellation of our stay was minute for minute harrowing! I started to get itchy in the hallway on the way up thinking, ok- this is public space. It has to get better, right? Wrong! The room, not even the size I booked, was latterly covered in filth! There was some sort of stain on the wall with the drip marks running down to the floor. Random garbage on the rugs was like confetti on New years eve. The pull out sofa bed smelled like dead animal and had "bug" holes in the mattress bottom. The sheets and blanket, that were at one time whit and beige, we now a tie dye shade of brown. Needless to say we walked in and walked out! Thankfully we were able to locate another hotel that was spotless, accommodating and professional. I have no idea how this Best Western got semi-decent reviews- I will find it hard to trust trip advisor reviews in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear karen v,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am very surprised at your exaggerated view of your hotel experience. I am sorry to see that you feel this way and only gave us 20 minutes to prove that we can exceed your expectations. I am glad that you did find other accommodations that you were happy with.

I would like to invite you back to see that we are not as you described above. Please contact me at 212-632-9006.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Address: 234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location in the heart of Times Square, steps from Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building-Guest rooms featuring; free wireless internet, flat screen televisions, free local phone calls, in-room coffee makers, i-home docking stations, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room safe. On-Site Fitness Center, Business Center, Conference Room- Two Restaurants, Lobby Bar, Room Service - 44 Suites with sleeper sofas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President Hotel New York
Best Western Nyc
Best Western Hotel Nyc
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western President New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.