We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but rooms need work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #360 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location but rooms need work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel's location is great! It convenient to Time Square, theaters, and the subway. The rooms are small but adequate. However, we had trouble with the heat/air conditioner even after reporting it. The bath tub didn't drain properly, the water was up to your ankles by the time you finished your shower. We stayed 4 nights and the first three nights we had to ask housekeeping for washcloths and then usually only got one. The room was clean enough but the floors were not vacuumed at all during our stay. The hallways were narrow and were wallpapered and painted an awful purple that looked like a bordello. Definitely needed redecorated! We booked through Expedia and this was rated as a 4 star hotel, which it definitely was not.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Susan D,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad you enjoyed our great location. I am sorry you did experience some issues with the condition of your room. We do have a management staff here most of the day that can assist you with any need. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your stay further at 212-632-9006.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    644
    539
    290
    258
See reviews for
395
787
188
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The rooms was clean. Perhaps that is why AAA rates it highly. Our room had no view but it was nice and quiet for sleeping. Maid service was fine. The gentleman at the check in /front desk was helpful; the door man not helpful at all.
Location excellent.
Get over the decor if you can--- it is kitschy at best.
Breakfast basic but it is convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear kona_kids_ofthebay,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I am glad to hear that your room was clean, I am also happy to hear that both our Housekeeping and Front Desk staff were accommodating. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The location is excellent, 100m from time square but the hotel is old and need some renovation work. Rooms could be cleaner, walls are dirty and breakfast is poor. The Furniture is in 70s style. Cost is too high

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear linetto72,

Thank you for your review of our property. Thank you for mentioning our great locations right in the heart of Times Square. I am surprised to see that you think our furniture is 70’s style as we were renovated in 2009 with some of the top designers. We do try our best to provide a good value for our rooms biased on our competitors in the area. We hope you will give us another chance when you return to New York City in the future.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The location of this hotel is outstanding! Parking is just across the street at Icon, Times Square is half a block away and you are right in the middle of the theater district!

Rooms are small but that is to be expected in NYC. My room was clean, the bed was comfy and when I asked the maid to change my iron, it was done right away. I have no complaints about the noise and my room was facing the rear of the hotel.

I will definitely be staying there again and will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear RBMtl,

Thank you for your review of our property. We are so glad to hear that your enjoyed our stay with us. We thank you very much for the recommendations to others and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights. Choose the hotel due to location. Truly amazing location! You can go anywhere within like 20min by foot.

The room was small but I knew so no bad surprise. The hotel smells bad though, especially in the lobby. Receptionists talk to each other while checkin/checkout, this is a no-go. Housekeeping&bellman were friendly.
Rooms are cleaned so-so, but should be done better. Not really clean, especially the bathroom- hair all over!

Asked for a room far from elevator: we got one at the end of the hallway which was perfect. Also asked for 2 blankets, didnt get them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear anina_89,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad to hear that your enjoyed our location. We are very close to all of the major attractions in Times Square. I am sorry to hear that the room condition did not exceed your expectations but I am glad that we were able to accommodate your request of a room away from the elevator. Please feel free to contact me about your stay at 212-632-9006. We hope you will give us another chance in the future to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Is there a place hotels go to die because this one has lost its way.

The location is outstanding if you want Times Square. Wonderfully loud, colourful and outright crazy. The city certainly has a heart, this hotel sadly does not.

Everything about this hotel feels shady. Even having to pay to keep your bags in storage for a few hours before your cab to the airport is lame. I've never seen a Best Western do that irrespective of city.

The rooms are tiny but that's New York so there is no surprise there.

The service is the issue here - no smiles, by anyone, on any day. Cleaners who will bang on your door to get you out so they can clean and move on (and then mutter under their breath), mechanics who wanted to fix the phone line at 9pm one night even though no one complained ("but its part of our scheduled servicing") - this was a laugh as we had someone in our matchbox room fixing things because he just had to. This feedback on exit was noted with a nod.

I felt embarrassed for the hotel, not sure if we were on candid camera. \

Why would you bother, seriously?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Zaffy,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry we were not able to exceed your expectations. I assure you that our hotel is safe and we do strive to provide a good quality product and service. The fee for our baggage storage goes right to the bellman as a tip. We do have a manager here most of the day to accommodate any concerns you may have with our hotel. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your stay further at 212-632-9006.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our stay at the Best Western was so great!
The location of the Best Western was perfect for us, we were able to go to a late show and not have far to walk back to the hotel. The staff was friendly and the room meet all our needs.
Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Betsy R,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are only a few blocks away from The Late Show as well as many other Times Square attractions. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Address: 234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location in the heart of Times Square, steps from Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building-Guest rooms featuring; free wireless internet, flat screen televisions, free local phone calls, in-room coffee makers, i-home docking stations, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room safe. On-Site Fitness Center, Business Center, Conference Room- Two Restaurants, Lobby Bar, Room Service - 44 Suites with sleeper sofas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President Hotel New York
Best Western Nyc
Best Western Hotel Nyc
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western President New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.