We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I beg someone to take over this hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #351 of 451 hotels in New York City
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“I beg someone to take over this hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Is there a place hotels go to die because this one has lost its way.

The location is outstanding if you want Times Square. Wonderfully loud, colourful and outright crazy. The city certainly has a heart, this hotel sadly does not.

Everything about this hotel feels shady. Even having to pay to keep your bags in storage for a few hours before your cab to the airport is lame. I've never seen a Best Western do that irrespective of city.

The rooms are tiny but that's New York so there is no surprise there.

The service is the issue here - no smiles, by anyone, on any day. Cleaners who will bang on your door to get you out so they can clean and move on (and then mutter under their breath), mechanics who wanted to fix the phone line at 9pm one night even though no one complained ("but its part of our scheduled servicing") - this was a laugh as we had someone in our matchbox room fixing things because he just had to. This feedback on exit was noted with a nod.

I felt embarrassed for the hotel, not sure if we were on candid camera. \

Why would you bother, seriously?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Zaffy,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry we were not able to exceed your expectations. I assure you that our hotel is safe and we do strive to provide a good quality product and service. The fee for our baggage storage goes right to the bellman as a tip. We do have a manager here most of the day to accommodate any concerns you may have with our hotel. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your stay further at 212-632-9006.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    606
    476
    266
    229
See reviews for
342
689
173
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our stay at the Best Western was so great!
The location of the Best Western was perfect for us, we were able to go to a late show and not have far to walk back to the hotel. The staff was friendly and the room meet all our needs.
Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Betsy R,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are only a few blocks away from The Late Show as well as many other Times Square attractions. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is half a block from Times Square - beyond that, I am struggling to be complimentary. It is definately over-priced for the quality. The carpets are threadbare in the extreme, the furniture is banged up, the air conditioner is noisy and the bathroom smelled to high heaven (please wash the shower curtain!!!). I can't imagine two people managing in the itty bitty room I had (Queen bed). The bed was surprisingly comfortable though and the Vietnamese restaurant next door (Saigon) was very good.
Don't bother if you can possibly afford another option.

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor towards the street - and it was loud all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear MidwestWanderer,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have larger rooms available such as our Deluxe Rooms and Suites if our guests need more room. We do try our very best to be the best value in the Times Square area by monitoring our competitors and providing the best rate to our guests. Please contact me if you would like to discuss your stay further at 212-632-9006.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good points that deserve a compliment are just the location and the free wi-fi. Bad: noisy air conditioner, smelly carpet, old room. So, if you are allergic, this is not your hotel: The price is just not compatible with the quality delivered. The pictures in the web site do not match the reality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear JulioBC,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and our free wireless internet. The pictures on our website are of the exact room types that we offer in the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you had some concerns with your room but I wish we could have moved you to another room to make it up to you during your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your stay further at 212-632-9006.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our penthouse room was spectacular. The hotel was a very pleasant surprise, and only one block from Times Square. The staff were very professional and friendly. Our room had a roof-top patio with a view of Broadway and a great bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Dale G,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to see that our staff were friendly and that your room was in good condition. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from NYC, and spent four nights at the Best Western Plus. Still not certain what the "plus" means, however like most reviewers I have to agree with the location of this hotel !
It is quite dated, and in serious need of major renovations, but the price was right for my sister and I. Apparently booking online with Mr. Shatner's Priceline was NOT a good choice since we
did not have a choice of rooms or beds at the time of booking. We were told upon arrival that the hotel was totally booked, and there were no upgrades available. Both Alphonso & Kumar were very accommodating, and did get us a better room on the second night. I'm not sure why so many people complain about this hotel ?? My sister and I seriously enjoyed our stay here, and I am a firm believer in the "you get what you pay for" way of thinking. Most other hotels in the surrounding area were double the price, and since we only used our room for sleeping, it was more than adequate ! You can't find a better location for the money imho, and smack dab in the middle of the Theater District. We walked around the corner to the Eugene O'Neil Theater and saw Book of Mormon, then back to the hotel to dine at a fabulous Thai restaurant called Ponsri, located right next door !!! No subway or taxi $$$ that night. So again, more savings to spend elsewhere in NYC. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Times Square, it was a total blast :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The entrance isn't all that fancy and you may even miss it, but the rooms make up for that and contain all you would expect for a hotel in this class. Plus the carpets are new and the room recently refurbished. Don't expect much space afterall you in the middle of manhattan. Hellooo....Anyway all overall a good value for the price paid.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Quiet, Charming...
Show More
Manhattan
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality Ho...
#62 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Quiet, Best Val...
Show More
Hell's Kitchen
BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel
BEST WESTERN Convention Center H...
#342 of 451 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Quiet, Bar/Loun...
Show More
Manhattan
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#118 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Manhattan
Night Hotel Times Square
Night Hotel Times Square
#313 of 451 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
Mid-range, Quie...
Show More
Manhattan
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#333 of 451 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,369 reviews
Luxury, Charmin...
Show More
Manhattan
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#236 of 451 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Address: 234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location in the heart of Times Square, steps from Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building-Guest rooms featuring; free wireless internet, flat screen televisions, free local phone calls, in-room coffee makers, i-home docking stations, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room safe. On-Site Fitness Center, Business Center, Conference Room- Two Restaurants, Lobby Bar, Room Service - 44 Suites with sleeper sofas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President Hotel New York
Best Western Nyc
Best Western Hotel Nyc
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western President New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.