We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #351 of 451 hotels in New York City
Chandler, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our penthouse room was spectacular. The hotel was a very pleasant surprise, and only one block from Times Square. The staff were very professional and friendly. Our room had a roof-top patio with a view of Broadway and a great bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Dale G,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to see that our staff were friendly and that your room was in good condition. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    605
    476
    265
    228
See reviews for
340
688
173
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from NYC, and spent four nights at the Best Western Plus. Still not certain what the "plus" means, however like most reviewers I have to agree with the location of this hotel !
It is quite dated, and in serious need of major renovations, but the price was right for my sister and I. Apparently booking online with Mr. Shatner's Priceline was NOT a good choice since we
did not have a choice of rooms or beds at the time of booking. We were told upon arrival that the hotel was totally booked, and there were no upgrades available. Both Alphonso & Kumar were very accommodating, and did get us a better room on the second night. I'm not sure why so many people complain about this hotel ?? My sister and I seriously enjoyed our stay here, and I am a firm believer in the "you get what you pay for" way of thinking. Most other hotels in the surrounding area were double the price, and since we only used our room for sleeping, it was more than adequate ! You can't find a better location for the money imho, and smack dab in the middle of the Theater District. We walked around the corner to the Eugene O'Neil Theater and saw Book of Mormon, then back to the hotel to dine at a fabulous Thai restaurant called Ponsri, located right next door !!! No subway or taxi $$$ that night. So again, more savings to spend elsewhere in NYC. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Times Square, it was a total blast :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The entrance isn't all that fancy and you may even miss it, but the rooms make up for that and contain all you would expect for a hotel in this class. Plus the carpets are new and the room recently refurbished. Don't expect much space afterall you in the middle of manhattan. Hellooo....Anyway all overall a good value for the price paid.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in an outstanding location - in the theater district close to Times Square. The room was barely adequate for one person. Lots of little things went wrong that were eventually remedied by the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear jeffm65_11,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our great location and I am happy to hear that our staff was able to remedy any problem you had.

We do have larger rooms available such as our Deluxe rooms and Suites if our guests require more room. We hope you will stay with us again if you ever come back to New York in the future.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is definitely a good location, however we did not have the greatest experience. I had booked a room with a king size bed, however they must have gave our room to someone else as nothing was available in king size our first night, so they gave us an available room and then upgraded us the remainder of our stay to a suite. Well, our first night, my husband and I basically slept on top of each other!! The bed was smaller than a double (just slightly larger than a twin)! The room was not much bigger than the bed and the water was freezing!! Thankfully we had to get up early so we were in this room only for a few hours. The next night after waiting at the front desk for sometime, they finally got us moved to the suite which was much bigger, however some of the room cleanliness had a lot to be desired! The heater made a terrible loud rattle and the only way to fix it was to shove a pen in it partially to make the rattle stop. The water was slightly warmer, but not much!! Some of the staff was very short and somewhat rude, however there were some very nice and helpful staff that deserve a pat on the back. All in all, probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear fungirl_101,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry to hear that we did not have the room that you reserved for you when you arrived but I am happy to see that the Front Desk was able to move you to a suite.

We hope you will give us another chance in the future to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb Twp, Mi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The location of this hotel is worth its weight in gold. Times Square is right at the corner, the Grayline tour bus stops are on both sides of the block, and it is walking distance from almost everything. (Grayline NYC-Great option for cheap transportation, city tour, and information about city.)

The hotel itself is very different in decor. Trendy some might say. It has a restaurant that we did not eat at, a sitting area, and a small bar. The room itself was pretty standard in size..in my opinion. My wife and I had a queen bed, tv, and a bathroom. The electrical outlets were basically extension cords running to and from junction boxes with exposed wires. The shower was super powered. So powerful that it basically soaked the entire bathroom in it's entirety. The phones and heat didn't work. The phone did not do anything. The heat actually went up as you turned it down. I guess you could say it worked...We just couldn't control it.

My wife and I are pretty easy going and don't ask of much other than a clean room that works properly. This fell a little short.

I didn't hate our stay, but would probably seek another hotel next time unless the price was right.

Room Tip: There are no tremendous views anywhere in the hotel. Your best chance is to get on the highest level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear MJMSxr,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our great location! We hope you will stay with us again if you ever come back to New York in the future.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location of the hotel was great. The staff were great and very helpful. The room a little on the small side, but we weren't in NY to sleep--in the room for very little. Just basically crawled into bed, got up and showered and gone again. Rooms nice and clean

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear WLCStratford.

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again if you ever come back to New York in the future.

Sincerely,
Thomas P
Director of Front Office
Best Western President Hotel at Times Square, New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Address: 234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location in the heart of Times Square, steps from Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building-Guest rooms featuring; free wireless internet, flat screen televisions, free local phone calls, in-room coffee makers, i-home docking stations, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room safe. On-Site Fitness Center, Business Center, Conference Room- Two Restaurants, Lobby Bar, Room Service - 44 Suites with sleeper sofas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President Hotel New York
Best Western Nyc
Best Western Hotel Nyc
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western President New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.