We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 days stay which where average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #361 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“10 days stay which where average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have just come home from a 10 day stay in this hotel and i must say it was pretty average, we stayed here for a few days went travelling and returned for another few days the 1st stay was on the 7th floor and the 2nd stay n the 14th floor the rooms where pretty nice they where quite modern and had everything needed unfortunately the 1st room we had the heating did not work it was snowing and pretty cold out side so the room was pretty cold though apart from this and the noise from the roadworks going on in the street the room was pretty ok, the on the 2nd stay on the 14th floor the room was the same though the bathroom was soo small it was hard to move in it, the carpet was also wet but we where given the room as an early check in as it was the only 1 available, thinking that the road work noise would not be as bad up this high was a mistake the noise was just as loud I dont know if it is as noisy in all the hotels in NYC or if it was just old windows allowing the noise in, but it was hard to sleep, this room was the opposite to the 1st room it was soo warm and the aircon was way too noisey to keep on. The hotel restaurante was somewhat strange the dinning was in the hotel reception squeezed into the corner this put us off wanting to eat there and the selection of food wasnt that big there was however a nice deli across the street on 8th which was cheap and the food was great, overall the hotel was good value for money it was right on broadway and times square it was central to alot of attractions which was greatand for this reason i would definately consider staying here again in the future. The staff at the desk where very helpfull and friendly and so where the cleaning ladies. Next door to the hotel was saigon48 restaurant it was very nice food i would recommend a night for dinner in this restaurante. And to the other side of the hotel Hurley Irish pub we had some of the best nights of our stay in this pub including St Paddys night drinks..

Room Tip: Try and get a room that has a unit that works on both air con and Heating and that isnt noisey as ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    644
    539
    290
    258
See reviews for
395
787
188
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moody, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 night in March. The location is excellent if you want to be in the heart of Times Square. However, the rooms are tiny. My room had a problem with the heating system. The front desk told me that the problem was simply that the outside temperature was too high for the heating system to operate. I know that is not true because it failed to operate even when the outside temperature dipped to 32 degrees.

I paid 259.00 plus tax per nite which is decent for the location.

Room Tip: Don't get a corner room. They are even smaller than the
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Louisiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My girlfriends and I (21 total) recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. I have stayed here 4 times before the renovation. The new decor is hiatus and cheap looking. All the rooms are ALL white, with vinyl sofas and head boards. The lamp is a 2ft tall President's head. Picture that when it is lit. I was actually embarrassed for the ladies that had never been to NYC before. We had 5 suites, one of the suites had an odor the first night and got stronger the second day, so one of the ladies looked under the bed, and there was a glue trap with (2) dead mice stuck to it. The hotel did compensate for the night's stay. The bar is in the front of the hotel, very inconvenient when you are trying to have a few drinks with friends and people are constantly in and out of the front door with the cold air busting through. I will NOT stay here again. The only thing good is the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

my wife and I were going on a cruise after our stay so we were very pleased with the distance to the port(5 min). Also very close to Times Square and other atractions The staf was great. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable .We met my cousin who lives in NY at the bar and staff there very good.Great value great location and great staff. We would definently stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not as bad as people say on here. The price was good for the area of town. I would not recommend the breakfast they serve. Way too expensive for what you get. Right next to Times Square. My room was very small. The Saigon 48 next door had great food. Upon check-out, they did not ask how did we like our stay. I will probably stay somewhere else next time. It's cheaper and you can take the Metro basically anywhere you want to go in NYC. Overall, just ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The good: Great location for theatre buffs. Walking distance to all theatres around Times Sq. and Broadway. Staff were friendly, helpful and cooperative. Rooms were cleaned and refreshed daily. Bathrooms clean and tidy. Bed was comfortable. Big screen TV. Private safe in room. Bar in lobby. Breakfast area in lobby.

The bad: Our first room on the third floor was so small there was barely room to move between the clothes closet and the bed. The bathroom cold tap ran hot water. When I tried to take a shower the water was scalding hot and I had to use a wash cloth to rinse off soap. When I complained to front desk they immediately switched me to another room on the thirteenth floor. Unfortunately, the elevator down call button on both floors did not work so had to always go up before being able to go down. My new room was bigger, and the bathroom had cold water too.

The ugly: My first afternoon nap in my new room turned scary when I awoke to find I was sharing my bed with bed bugs. I captured several of them in a container and presented them to the desk clerk. They immediately moved me to another room back on the third floor. This room was even larger with a good bathroom and cold water. We gave up on the elevator and used the stairs most of the time. I checked the bed every day and did not find any more bed bugs. But it left a creepy feeling the whole time. When I arrived back home I washed and cleaned everything including the suitcase. Hopefully, I will not have a problem in my home.

It is a fact that New York has a major problem with bed bugs and there was no indication that the hotel was dirty in any way, just a little old and run down. So the last guest may have brought them in or maybe they migrated from another room. I was left confident they would take immediate steps to eradicate the problem pest. General maintenance seems to be an ongoing problem for the hotel. The handrail on the stair from the lobby was loose at one end and the elevator problems were never attended to. However, complaints were listened to and dealt with immediately. It pays to complain!

Room Tip: If you are not satisfied with your room in any way, complain to the desk clerk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

i had been to other hotel in manhattan but this was the best. The location is great the staff was friendly and very courteous. the lobby had a beautiful bar to greet you. i love the decor of the room and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTimesSquareNYC, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a pleasant review about your stay at the hotel. We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you and your family again in the future.



Sincerely
Kizzy Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square

Address: 234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location in the heart of Times Square, steps from Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building-Guest rooms featuring; free wireless internet, flat screen televisions, free local phone calls, in-room coffee makers, i-home docking stations, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room safe. On-Site Fitness Center, Business Center, Conference Room- Two Restaurants, Lobby Bar, Room Service - 44 Suites with sleeper sofas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President Hotel New York
Best Western Nyc
Best Western Hotel Nyc
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western President New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS President Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.