We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Best Western Plus) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #365 of 464 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't Bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here only 1 night as it was terrible. We arrived late or else we would have changed hotels. We read that the hotel had undergone a $40 million renovation, so we thought it would be ok. There is NO WAY any renovations were done here in sometime. This place is old and neglected. Many foreigners (mostly European) were staying here and I hope they encounter better options during their visit to NYC. While lobby is bright, it is a flashback to the 70s. The elevators are so tiny I can't believe they are wheelchair accessible. Halls are dingy and carpeting so threadbare that it feels like you're walking on cement. Rooms are small, but that doesn't bother me. The sheets were clean. Toilet was broken, tub wouldn't drain water, door handle to small balcony was broken, and it was HOT in the room with no controls for heat. AC unit was old and dirty so we opted to keep bathroom window open. We couldnt shower due to tub problem, so we got up early and bolted for the exit. Oh, hears the clincher... When we finally got door open to balcony, there was vomit on the balcony floor. Gross!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    698
    587
    306
    280
See reviews for
438
856
196
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Fishkill, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have been holding off to travel to NYC until late winter. The Price was right and and easy trip into Manhattan from upstate NY. Spent three days in NYC at the Best Western Hotel near Times Square. Clean rooms, friendly staff , great location and best of all a good rate for me and the Mrs. Great location to get around up and down NYC. Near the Theaters , had a great time. I recommend!!

Room Tip: Use the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Been there last summer for a couple trip. The location is amazing. Period. Extremely noisy, we asked for a room change. Happened, but the new one was almost as noisy. No curtain for the shower, and the closet was leaking... We had to fix it ourselves!!!

Service is average, but the tech' guy was great.

I wouldn't recommend it...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed at Times Square Best Western President this past weekend. Friendly staff clean rooms nice price and best location. Near all midtown attractions. Looking forward to returning next summer. Lots to do. Left our bags no problem before our flight. Nice places to eat in the area.
TKTS for half price tickets around the corner. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel has a great location. Fixed taxi fee from airport of 52 US dollars. The rooms were ok but needed a quality refurb. Mine was cold with broken air con and a large fan unit whirring away in the corner. Bathroom 1980s style, although it was clean. It does have free wifi which is a plus. You can walk to almost any of the main attractions which is also good.It may be that it's luck of the draw with the rooms. My work colleague said that his was pretty good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square

Address: 234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location in the heart of Times Square, steps from Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building-Guest rooms featuring; free wireless internet, flat screen televisions, free local phone calls, in-room coffee makers, i-home docking stations, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room safe. On-Site Fitness Center, Business Center, Conference Room- Two Restaurants, Lobby Bar, Room Service - 50 Suites with bunk beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President Hotel New York
Best Western Nyc
Best Western Hotel Nyc
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western President New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.