We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Best Western Plus) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #369 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Although the room was smaller than most that we have stayed in, the decour and immenities were like new. We had a problem with the hai dryer and it was replaced in 20 minutes. This hotel is in the middle of everything and would definately stay here again. The only negative was that the elevators were very slow. We wound up using the stairs mostly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTimesSquareNYC, Front Office Manager at TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for recognizing our decor and our great location in the heart of Times Square. The elevator issue has been resolved and are monitored on a regular basis. The staff takes pride in addressing guests concerns in a timely manner. We hope that you will choose the Best Western Hotel on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Sincerly
Kizzy Harris
Assisant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    729
    620
    325
    303
See reviews for
458
896
206
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

To clarify the title, the decor is a bit crazy! But kinda cool at the same time. The rooms are smallllll. But that's New York City. Plus, I wasn't there for the room, I was there for what's outside. It was a pretty clean place for me to recharge at night. I had my own bathroom to use, which some hotels don't mention to tell you that you'll be SHARING one. And the staff was pretty helpful and polite. The location? Well, you're right there. I made absolutely no plans, and every time I left the hotel I stumbled into some fun! Overall, I'd stay there again. Tip: call the 800 # and book through a person. I got the BEST rate when I spoke to someone. Happy travels..!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTimesSquareNYC, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Chad, What an awesome review. We all appreciate the comments and I will share with the staff. Thanks again for staying with us.

Be sure to vote this year!

Jay Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great location, but slightly less than mediocre. We stayed there 10 years ago and loved it. This time, it was just ok. The drain in the tub did not drain as showering, and we needed maintenance to get the TV to work. We were on a non smoking floor but people were smoking. But for the location, the price is good.

Room Tip: rooms on the front side only have street view, back rooms have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Got the deal from a friend who told me to use the app....

Over-all the hotel is so nice and comfy to stay. Very near Time Square is the selling point here. They have tiny rooms and tiny elevator but its very clean and decent. Nicely decorated too!

I just hope that there will be more CUSTOMER SERVICE from their staff. From front desk to their bell boys. They can try to be accomodating and they should also answer the inquiries of their tourists and guests very well. This is the reason why only rated them with AVERAGE.

Again, the hotel isnt bad at all, i just hope that they will improve on their Customer Service Satisfaction...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colgate, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I am a Mom from Milwaukee WI., who paid for my daughter's and her friends' once-in-a-lifetime trip to fashion week in New York. I was pleased with all of the very favorable comments on this website, and concerned about the few unfavorable guest reviews. But I was really impressed how Mr. Dean had responded to each guest concern, even when the issue may have been simply traffic, etc. So I emailed Mr. Dean from the email he provides on their website for any of his guest's questions. AMAZING!! It couldn't have been more than a few minutes when I received a personal call from Mr. Dean!! He could not have been kinder! Mr. Dean then took personal involvement in assuring me that my daughter would love her experience at his hotel. He personally checked the room assigned to them; kept me abreast via email of what he had done on behalf of my daughter, double-checked the accomodations prior to their arrival, and requested that Tara ask for him upon arrival so that they can receive VIP treatment. Tara and Elisse felt like Superstars!!
I am a professional who has been in the challenging market of Customer Service and sales for my entire career. I cannot think of any other instance when the person at the top took such personal accountability to assure the satisfaction of their clients. I am still amazed, and Best Western in general, but especially Best Western Plus, Times Square, will be the only lodging I and all those whom I share this with, will stay. Extreme kudos to Mr. Jay WM Dean, GM.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Small rooms dirty toilet not good smells.they don't clean it very well or the room it's dirty
Only good thing is they put lovely sheets on the bed.
Its a very noisy hotel as well we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila, phillippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its proximity to Times Square and everywhere! Went to New York in a holiday last March and it was the perfect hotel for a New York first time tourist like me. It's a few step away from Times Square. Because it is so near, I walked around the area at 3am food tripping and i felt safe!

Broadway is also just around the corner. Souvenir shops, Madam Tussaud's and everything else is walking distance from this hotel. And when I say walking distance, not 10 blocks away! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square

Address: 234 West 48th Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location in the heart of Times Square, steps from Broadway Theaters, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building-Guest rooms featuring; free wireless internet, flat screen televisions, free local phone calls, in-room coffee makers, i-home docking stations, complimentary weekday newspaper, in-room safe. On-Site Fitness Center, Business Center, Conference Room- Two Restaurants, Lobby Bar, Room Service - 50 Suites with bunk beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President Hotel New York
Best Western Hotel Nyc
Best Western Nyc
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western President New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.