We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably-priced and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #82 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Metro DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Reasonably-priced and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

First things first, this hotel is NOT in midtown. If you're looking to enjoy mid-Manhattan,or even Chelsea, you're better off staying some place closer. But if you're looking for a charming little hotel near the Brooklyn Bridge and the Seaport, this is it. The price was quite reasonable. Although the view from my room was less than stellar, I'm guessing that there are some rooms with great views. My room was tiny and simply appointed, not luxurious, but typical for an older New York hotel. It was clean and the bed comfortable. The gentleman who checked us in was lovely and made us feel right at home, sort of like a bed and breakfast. The breakfast, however, is not luxurious - it's a typical Best Western breakfast. I'd certainly stay here again, and the Italian restaurant down the street was quite good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    232
    43
    9
    12
See reviews for
191
152
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here for a week with a wedding party. We had lots of requests and the staff was always friendly and helpful. The dude working the nightshift, Jesse, is an awesome dude. Highly reccomended. Rooms are nice. Super super clean. Sixth floor. Has a terrace off the rooms. Great view of the Brooklyn bridge.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Had a wonderful stay, walkable distance to ground zero. You feel right in the heart of Manhattan, yet with a quite space. The staff were very nice, especially with the kids. Definitely a thumbs up :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

What makes this hotel special is the kind and helpful staff! I especially enjoyed talking with Douglas at the front desk!
The breakfast area was well stocked with bagels, yogurt and fruit thanks to Miriam, the hostess.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoforte
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

As said I booked on internet and was cheaper than many places in brooklyn and in new jersey. The location is at the seaport, which is still under reconstruction but it is ok and safe, and a 5mins walk to fulton st/broadway and city hall. My room was large and comfortable with a sitting area and a coffee table. Bathroom was okay also. Breakfast is a bit on the weaker side although reach enough with coffee juices yogurth fruit salad cereals toasts and croissants. Yes, they use plastic cutlery but honestly I dont mind. All in all it is value for money and a very nice stay for the six nights I stayed. Staff also nice especially at night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This property is located at the South Street Seaport near the Financial District, World Trade Center, and Chinatown. I recently had a one night stay at this hotel, my first. I've previously stayed at the Andaz Wall Street, Millennium Hilton, and the DoubleTree Financial District, to give you sense of my context.

Pros:
The price is the biggest advantage this property has over places like the Andaz, Hilton, and DoubleTree. Room rates are generally in the $200s, while the others are routinely double that.

The location is very good for work, better for pleasure. If you're working in the Financial District, it's not a very long walk to Wall Street or the WTC, and it's very close to Water St. If you're working west of Wall St, there are better, closer options, but this is a great location otherwise. For pleasure, I'd say it's even better. Less than 10 min walk to WTC, about the same to the heart of Chinatown; right in the South Street Seaport; and close proximity to the subway. It should be noted that much of the South Street Seaport is still under reconstruction after Sandy, so the majority of shops are still closed, although some restaurants have opened back up. That said, there are still plenty of restaurants - particularly up Fulton and John Streets - you can check out, from fast food to quick service to delis to pubs to full-service restaurants. If you're feeling really ambitious, you can even make it all the way up to Tribeca. And if you're a runner, great paths to run by the river.

Floors 6 and 7 are nice in that it seems all rooms have a balcony. I was on 7, which had a small room, but a nice balcony with a view of WTC 1 and the Brooklyn Bridge. Floor 6 appears to have larger rooms and similarly-sized balconies.

Amenities are nice, particularly the free wifi (decent speed, too) and free hot breakfast (eggs, a meat, oatmeal packets, yogurt, waffle maker, juice/coffee/tea, pastries/bagels). Always nice to be able to eat for free at the hotel rather than spending $30 for a breakfast at the Hilton.

The staff are also very friendly. I spoke to 3 different people (bag check in the morning, check-in in the afternoon, checkout the next morning) and all were professional and smiling.

Cons:
The biggest con for me was the relatively "old" furnishings/design. The property has clearly not been renovated, although this is part of what allows them to keep costs down. The rooms are clean and functional - nothing more, nothing less. Although, I must admit, there were extra outlets by the beds, which you often do not easily find in some hotels (I'm looking at you, Millennium Hilton, with your power strips hidden behind the nightstands!).

There is a fair amount of light coming into the room from outside (even with curtains drawn) and from the hallway (gaps in the door). If this bothers you, I recommend a sleep mask. I always bring a sleep mask with me on business trips just in case, and I used it on this trip.

Another con is the noise from the fan in the hallway. There was what I can only guess is a ventilation fan in the hallway ceiling which ran constantly. Unfortunately, it was a bit squeaky and could be heard in the room.

The room had french patio doors, but only one of the doors would open, as the surface bolts were bent and would not release. Not a big deal, but would certainly add to the ambiance of the room if both would open.

Con for me, personally, are the pillows. They're the fat, firm foam kind. I find the thicker firm pillows hurt my neck when I sleep, so this was a downer for me. My wife, on the other hand, prefers this type of pillow, so it's a different strokes sort of thing. It just didn't work for me.

Overall:
I would recommend this if you're on a budget and would like to be in the area. If budget is not a concern, then there are certainly more modern and nicely appointed hotels. All in all, though, I would come back if my primary choices were not available or if budget were a primary concern.

Room Tip: 6th and 7th floor rooms all appear to have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Small hotel, but clean, good ubication and VERY friendly stuff!! they make us feel best than home, room isn't big but for New York is OK, (I've been in really small ones)

Very close to Brooklyn bridge...

Parking lot close and they charge $20.oo ( $35.oo big cars like mine =/ ) no bad...

Breakfast includes... (bread, yogurt, cereal, bagel, etc) No bad, no GREAT lol

Room Tip: walk distance restaurant, port, stores, bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#88 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.