We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back from Hurricane Sandy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #64 of 449 hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Back from Hurricane Sandy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel was inundated with 6 feet of water after Hurricane Sandy and reopened in December 2012 from what I understand. Friendly staff and the room was impressive at good rate. Although the South Street Seaport area is still rebuilding the Best Western is a diamond in the rough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing east on the upper floors...a good view of the Brooklyn Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    196
    33
    6
    12
See reviews for
165
118
28
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of days only, and before choosing this hotel, I carefully read almost all of the reviews. As usual, it turns out that you don't need to necessarily trust other reviews, and unless there are too many negative ones, your chances are that you will be staying at a good place. To summarize it, I was entirely satisfied with the this hotel. Check-in was nice and smooth, the staff are really friendly (Tia and other guys whose names I did not catch) and the rooms are just fine; breakfast was good, too - in my view, it was more that enough to start your day. A couple of small things to note: there is construction going on around the hotel, and the sink in the bathroom does not drain the water very quickly, although I noticed that in other places across the US. And, one last thing - someone should do something about the TV set remote control: I could not watch nether the TV programs nor could I watch one of those pay moview. Something was definitely wrong with the remote control. I just hope the hotel finds remedy to that.

Thanks to the management for that great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the hotel. The staff was very professional and friendly. Douglass made our time there even more special with his wonderful hospitality. It was so nice to find a hotel in New York where the staff is so friendly, that's not very common! The rooms were clean and room service was great. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to have an enjoyable time in New York!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have recently given up my NY apartment and opted to stay in hotels when I travel to the city for work weekly. After trying a few downtown hotels I've settled on the Best Western Seaport. It is BY FAR the best value, with nice rooms and a very friendly staff!! They have actual mini refrigerators in each room (as opposed to the somewhat cool mini bar) and a continental breakfast. Not to mention, it's nice to see Seaport businesses up and running again after Sandy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The service was superb. front desk knowledgable and welcoming. Spotless rooms. Reported a small infrastructure issue to the front desk. When we returned it was fixed. We are fond of your hotel, your staff and the location.

We are retired and it is expensive to stay in Manhattan, but we look to you first.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the best western in seaport and the service of the employees was remarkable. They went above and beyond to make our stay the best possible from helping us get there after the taxi driver dropped us off in manhattan by the Empire State Building. It was like midnight and we were lost and had no where to stay or any idea how to get there and the first place we called was best western. They helped us get here with step by step instructions, stayed on the phone with us for over an hour trying to get there, gave us an awesome room once we finally made it. By the time we got there every restaurant around was closed so the front desk attendant turned on the breakfast stuff so we could at least get something to eat before bed. The next morning they gave us an extended check out since we got there so late, and once we checked out they held onto our bags for us so we could do a little sightseeing before heading back to the airport and going back to Texas. This hotel made our trip a thousand times better, it was our first trip to New York and will not be our last and we will stay nowhere but at the best western seaport inn! Lovely view, great location, awesome customer service, overall wish the scores on here would go higher than just to five. Would give this hotel 100!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, MA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Donald at the front desk was excellent. very pleasant and helpful..Price was excellent. decent size room, comfortable stay.. small but fine exercise room. good selections on fee breakfast...a few blocks from subway. $20 to park in local garage.. The hotel was real tough to get to due to lots of construction in area. all roads close to hotel seemed to be closed.. it was pretty frustrating. but hotel was well worth it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#21 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#62 Business Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.