We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was central to so many things” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #85 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Crookston, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location was central to so many things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My daughter & I stayed here end of June! Loved the quaintness of this motel & the staff were helpful & pleasant. When I booked this room I was under the impression there were balconies off the rooms so that you could enjoy the Brooklyn Bridge & other views. When checking in, found out that was not the case. Our 1st room looked right into the side of another building (room was great though) Due to the fact we were going to be there a week, asked if they had a room with a better view & boy did they deliver. We were moved to a room with a terrace off of it & lived like queens for a week. This motel was within walking distance to almost everything & if not was close to hopping on a sub. Would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you for such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Jen P ,

Thank you very much for your review. Our location is ideal when visiting New York City. It is close to everything you will need from transportation to restaurants, city tours, tickets to broadway shows and great view at the brooklyn bridge.

Again, we appreciate you review and hope to see you again soon.

ZB Moham
General Manager

ZB Moham

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    232
    43
    9
    12
See reviews for
191
152
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fremont, ca
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in August to attend a wedding. The Hotel staff were amazing from the get go. We had taken a red eye flight and had landed in the airport at 7:30 AM. Even though our room reservation was not before Noon, the Hotel front staff offered us hot breakfast which was great btw. The Hot breakfast included fresh fruits, pastries and scrambled eggs and sausages with the usual selection of bread and bagels and juices.

I was also impressed with the location. It was just a block about away from the historic seaport area and pier 17. We were about a good 15-20 minute walk away from the battery park from where one can take cruises to Ellis island and statue of Liberty. The wall street and financial district was about a 10 minute walk away. The best thing one can enjoy close by is a walk on the Brooklyn bridge. If you can do it at night, the views are awesome! There is a subway station not more than 5 minute walk away as well.

The negative thing though is the whole building and rooms are quite small. Even the lobby area and the breakfast area could easily get crowded when 3 or 4 families got there at once! The rooms were clean and serviced well. However they were small. Although we were offered a room with a partial view to the Brooklyn Bridge, the whole area is surrounded by old buildings and which mellowed down the view.

There are no amenities like pool or a spa. They did have a fitness center which I did not use. They do have a complimentary wireless, which was quite spotty connection wise inside the rooms.

The only reason I did not give it 4 stars was that it lacked some of the amenities that a typical 4 star restaurant should have. It is in the 3+ star category in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view of the Brooklyn Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear sakraghu ,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that your overall stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed our location. Our rooms are biggest in our location. Not too many hotels in New York will have 2 queen size beds or King size rooms with Terraces. Most of our guest find it comfortable. We wish we had a pool and spa. Real estate in NYC is very expensive ($100 SQ FT). Again, we appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were in NYC for a three day weekend and stayed at this great little hotel near the South Street Seaport. The team behind the desk was just superb. I have not experienced such stellar attention since a stay at the Four Seasons anew years ago! Douglas was the epitome of excellence and even recalled my name several days after we checked in. Also Janice and another fellow this morning were also so kind and helpful. The lady managing the breakfast was probably overworked, but not one complaint, she was cheerful and so helpful and accommodating. We liked our room a lot with a view of the top of the Brokklyn Bridge. We will definitely go back and give it two thumbs up!

Didn't love the pillows - too thick - made our necks hurt, but did like the nice King size bed!

Room Tip: Anything with a view of the water or the bridge makes it more special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear trvel4fun ,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that your stay was pleasant and you enjoyed the area and view. Douglas and Janice are few of the team members that deliver exceptional service day in and day out. Again, we appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is an ideal location, close to the Financial District, but has problems with rattling A/C units, broken shower heads and missing breakfast items (no coffee on Monday, No Eggs on Tuesday, etc). Construction on Peck Slip has caused the hotel to become dirty. On the positive side, the hotel staff are likely the friendliest and helpful in Manhatten.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at the BW South St. Seaport between August 21st & August 28th. I was initially impressed with the positive comments that were posted on this site. My expectations are simple: It has to be affordable, clean, and in a good location. We were not disappointed!
My first impression was that the hotel was clean and well organized. The check in was smooth and the staff were welcoming. Our room was on the 5th floor which gave us a great view of the Brooklyn Bridge.
As for proximity, it is a short stroll to restaurants and shops located in the South Street Seaport and Pier 17. A few blocks away are the subway stations, a couple of 24 hour stores.
The only negative that I have is the bathroom. It was showing its age. The sink tap came off in my son’s hand when he went to turn it on. We advised the front desk and within a few hours maintenance had repaired it. Problem solved. That’s the way things are supposed to work.
Food wise, the breakfast that is provided, is the best deal in town! The food was fresh and definitely hot. When the room was full, we were directed to an adjacent conference room. The ladies who worked that room were friendly and helpful.
A word about the staff, they are the awesome! From Frank and the front desk staff who are efficient & helpful (and can read a map upside down), to the ladies who take care of our rooms (always cheerful). Even the maintenance man, who was a busy guy, had a great sense of humor. Everyone was polite and professional.
I have stayed in fancier hotels from some well known chains and discovered that the staff is what you remember. The staffs at the BW Seaport Inn have raised the standard. Keep up the great work!
If you are looking for a hotel where the action is, go to the Times Square district. If you want to stay at a hotel that is away from all the hustle and bustle of the city, this is the place. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had never stayed in the Seaport area but thought we'd try it because this hotel had reasonably priced rooms available. It was an excellent experience. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the largest room we had ever stayed in NYC. The staff was incredibly friendly and did everything possible to make our stay pleasant. The area is quiet but accessible to all that NYC has to offer by using the nearby subway or flagging down a taxi. Even the parking garage recommended by the hotel was more economical than others that we have used (remember to get your parking stub validated by the hotel). The free breakfast was more than sufficient to get the day started with a full stomach. We cannot think of any reason not to stay here in the future. Although we didn't have a balcony with a view of the Brooklyn Bridge (all were occupied), it may be worth a few extra dollars on our next visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My best friend of 30 plus years and I were given a vacation by my son to New York and we had no idea where to stay so I searched the internet and luckily I found this absolutely wonderful
hotel. The hotel is in the best location for driving into the city via the Holland Tunnel and has a
parking garage within one block of the hotel in a very safe area (the price per day was $20 which was not much when you consider a cab ride to and from the airport for two)! Everything is within walking distance and there is a lot to do in the immediate area.....we could have stayed a month and and not done everything. There is a bit of construction right outside the hotel entrance due to a park being built which will make anyone's stay there even more enjoyable in the very near future. The view at night is beautiful and being able to see the Brooklyn bridge right out your window is pretty cool too!! We decided we wanted to go on a dinner cruise, but had no idea of how to set up the reservation, car service, etc. so immediately
Tia (front desk personnel) went to work and had everything done for us in minutes. That is how every day or night was for us....the entire staff (Frank, Janice, Tia, Lewis...everyone!) was
so very accommodating! There are things to do, along with relaxing, right there without going more than a block or two....great for kids and adults and the dog!!!
To sum it all up, the staff goes WAY out of their way to make you feel comfortable and to help you with anything they can. I could go on and on about them and the hotel, but like I said, it's the best kept secret in New York and I wouldn't go anywhere else! Take the subway to everything north, but don't miss out on a GREAT experience by not staying at the Best Western Plus Seaport Inn!! The best vacation ever and in my opinion, it had a lot to do with the hotel location and staff.....Great job guys.....hope to see you again real soon :) Nancy & Terrie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#88 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.