We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #72 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fine location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Away from the noise and bustle but within easy walking distance of Downtown - Wall Street, Ground Zero, Battery Park and pier for Liberty Island, the Seaport district is quaint, with nice restaurants (must try the Bridge Cafe) and super views of the East River and Brooklyn Bridge. The hotel is comfortable, the staff nice and a very reasonable breakfast included on a buffet basis. A nice touch was the supply of free cookies available in the afternoon when coming back from a walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room view of the bridge - we had one on the top floor with a large balcony and the view wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear SwindonRobin,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that your overall stay was pleasant. Our location is often praised by our guests. It gets the highest ranking score next to our customer service. Most guest like the location because it is close to the restaurants, shopping, transportation, and of course the Brooklyn Bridge. Again, we appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon.

ZB Moham
Best Western Seaport Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    211
    36
    8
    12
See reviews for
178
131
29
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warragul, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We are a family of 3 adults and we stayed for 4 nights at the Seaport Inn just before Christmas 2011. We had heard of the fantastic views of the Brooklyn Bridge from some of the rooms, however when we arrived the whole facade of the hotel was covered with scaffolding and canvas - alas, no view from any rooms! Whilst we were disappointed by this, that was our only disappointment with this hotel. The rooms were very clean, spacious and well appointed - the whole hotel had a feel of yesteryear and was very quaint and homely. Breakfast was included and there was a nice selection of breads and cereals on offer.
Home made cookies were baked and available in the lobby every afternoon and the staff were friendly and courteous.
We loved the Seaport area because we were spoilt for choice of really good value restaurants and it was reasonably easy to get around by public transport- the nearest subway was Fulton St, about a 7-10 min walk.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Figarover,

Thank you very much for your review. We do our best make home away from home experience. We are glad that your had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our location. The hotel is going through minor brick work which is scheduled to be completed very soon. Please let us know when you are in the area again and we’ll do our best to get you the Brooklyn Bridge view. Best Regards from NY.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haddonfield, nj
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

For a weekend getaway my wife and I stayed at this hotel located 2 blocks noth of South Street Seaport. It was a very cold weekend so there was not much foot traffic around when we stayed there. We also had a car but lucked out and found free parking on one of the streets around the corner from the hotel. For public transportation lovers, the hotel is a 10 to fifteen minute walk from the nearest subway station, however cabs are relatively easy to find. The hotel itself is fairly standard, but the rooms were very clean and confortable. They also offer free breakfast although we opted to grab brunch on our own a short distance away in the Lower East Side. For the price we paid the hotel was very good value but I wasn't that crazy about the location so I only gave this place a three.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Kt3,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that your overall stay was pleasant and we respect your opinion on the location of our hotel. Our location is often praised by our guests. It gets the highest ranking score next to our customer service. Most guest like the location because it is close to the restaurants, shopping, transportation, and of course the Brooklyn Bridge. Again, we appreciate your review and hope to see you again when it is little warmer.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My wife and I are New Yorkers and our wedding party stayed here when we got married in Brooklyn several years ago. We've been coming back every year since to celebrate as a little "staycation" and we enjoy our time here immensely. I highly recommend the terrace rooms (and making sure you buy a bottle of wine or bring a book and take time to enjoy it). The view of local skyscrapers, the cobblestone streets below, and Brooklyn across the East River are beautiful. A bunch of great little restaurants, pubs, and wine bars are nearby, and even though the hotel is so close to the Seaport, the hotel and immediate area are not inundated with crowds. Last summer, we walked a few minutes to the nearby ferry to Governor's Island, for a tour and a special musical event that was taking place. And a stop at The Paris, one of NYC's oldest pubs, for a beer and dinner at the historic Bridge Cafe, are both mandatory! You can even walk across the Brooklyn Bridge if you're in the mood. The staff here has been consistently friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast items in the morning are an extra bonus. This hotel is really a hidden gem in this city, I have to say, and that's not a term I use often.

Room Tip: Get a terrace! It's a bit more money, but definitely worth it. It'll be like you own a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear JRfromNYC,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our convenient location is ideal for weddings and family gatherings. We are near Bridgewaters wedding hall which is located couple of blocks away from the hotel. Again, thank you for feedback.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

My husband, son and I stayed here for a couple of days in December. We arrived before check-in time and we were able to use their bag check facilities and sight-see until we were able to check-in. It gave us more time to enjoy the city without having to drag our luggage with us. The rooms were large,clean, and comfortable. Breakfast is included and there were many fresh pastries and bagels from the area as well as juice, hot beverages, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, waffles and a few other things. The hotel itself is located close to the historic Pier 17 where there are many shops and restaurants as well as the Seaport Museum. There are interesting places to visit in the area (Battery Park, Trinity Church, the Financial District,etc,)which are all in walking distance of the hotel. Also, the Brooklyn Bridge and City Hall are close to this area as well. We took advantage of the convenient subway stops close to the hotel (about an 8-minute walk) (Fulton St.and City Hall). We will definitely return to this hotel on our next visit.

Room Tip: Our room had double beds and was quite comfortable for the three of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Newvisitor2011,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad that we helped you store your luggage. Our guests are always welcome to check in early based on availability. If not we can always store your bags until room is ready. Again, thank you for feedback and hope to see you again soon.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

My wife, 2 daughters ages 7.5 & 6, and i stayed here Dec 27 & 28. We arrived around 11 am and were surprised that our room was ready and we were able to check in early. They do offer bag check if your room isn't ready and have a lobby restroom. We had a king bed w a pull out sofa. The room wasn't big, but was large enough to accomodate us comfortably, it was clean and NO beg bugs! The front desk personel were all very nice and helpful. A breakfast is included, which is more than just juice and danishes, and included fruit, juice, bagels, cereal, coffee, belgium wafels, yogurt, and probably a few other things. The dining area is rather small, so you may need to wait for a table or take it back to your room. The location is great for exploring downtown or escaping from midtown. The seaport is right next door, the brooklyn bridge is just a few blocks away - great views of the bridge just a short walk away, the world trade center, wall street, battery park - all within walking distance. We started our day with coffee from Jack's Stir Brew a block away. There is a good italian restaurant almost right next door - "Acqua" - good food, reasonable prices, nice atmosphere. I will most likely return here in the spring for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear rumcreme,

Thank you very much for your feedback. To reduce overcrowding in the breakfast room we have opened our conference room for breakfast on daily basis. This has helped us double our seating capacity. Again, thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This was our second trip to New York this year, in February we stayed near Times Square which we found a bit too busy.

The area around the Seaport Inn is wonderful - full of excellent places to eat and drink with cobbled streets and sufficent shopping. It is only about an 8 minute walk to the nearest subway station so getting around is easy. The bus stop is just at the end of the slip.

The hotel was very nice, good breakfast in the morning and very helpful staff, room was a very decent size for New York. They are doing some development work at Peck Slip which will make the area even better - this does cause a bit of building work noise but it did not bother us at all.

We will stay at this hotel again on our next trip to New York

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear BviBeachie,

Thank you for very much for your feedback. We always appreciate when guests let us know how we are doing. Construction is part of long overdue infrastructure improvement. Once it is completed we will have a very nice park directly in front of the hotel. It will be awesome. Again, thank you for feedback and hope to see you soon.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.