We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Dream New York to your Saves list
Dream New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #340 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Dream was still under last legs of construction so understanding that there were still areas that needed finishing. The small room is literally nyc tiny, just able to walk around the bed, and the bathroom is super tiny, all clean new modern that part is all great. FYI housekeeping comes early so press the little button on the peep hole to indicate : do not disturb (that one I didn't figure out till second night) Downstairs bar was great, upstairs rooftop bar was a bit disco for me, but I'm sure fantastic for private parties, the whole security at the door type of thing. All in all, great location and once those last touches finish, it's fresh and not worn out like many places in nyc are.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Dream New York, responded to this review, yesterday
TheHoppFamily,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute a review about your stay! We are happy to hear you enjoy our newly remodeled rooms! Please know we have a variety of rooms at Dream and we would be more than happy to offer some suggestions for your next trip. We have another bar on the lobby level, The Bar, which I am not sure if you visited but it provided a more relaxed atmosphere than Ava. I would suggest checking that bar out next time. Please do not hesitate to reach out directly when you plan your next stay!

Warm Regards,
Sabrina Pomilio
Director of Guest Services
spomilio@dreamny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    460
    247
    132
    111
See reviews for
113
449
88
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at Dream Midtown about 3 years ago with my wife and daughter.Location was great being next to Times Square, Broadway Theatres, and Central Park. Had a solo business trip this past week and decided to stay there again. Was amazed that the staff from 3 years ago remembered my name and also asked how my family was! Very impressed. Felt like family.Great location. Great service. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Dream New York, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Konstadin Dino K,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute a review about your recent stay! We are thrilled to make you feel like home and you are visiting family when you come to stay! Its fantastic you took advantage of our ideal location, we are certainly right in the heart of all the action! We hope to have you with us soon and bring your family back too! Please reach out to me directly when you plan your next visit so I may oversee your stay.

Warm Regards,

Sabrina Pomilio
Director of Guest Services
spomilio@dreamny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Dream NY hotel is in a great location for anyone visiting New York City as a tourist. It's a couple of blocks from Central Park, Times Square and right next to the subway. The hotel has an italian restaurant and a rooftop bar. The bar is a bit of a hot spot due to the views and it's location, however I think the rooftop bar needs some updating, the furniture and internal area is very 80's/90's and they don't maximize their gorgeous view with their seating arrangement.
It's also annoying that you can't charge drinks and food ordered at the bar to your room - even when the bar is empty.
The hotel was going under a refurb so perhaps they are updating their facilities. Our room was on the 8th floor and we were informed that this was already refurbed. The room was SMALL but then a lot of hotels in NYC are like this. It was clean, the bed was VERY comfortable, the bathroom very decent size and spotless. The benefit of having a larger wardrobe meant we weren't tripping over suitcases the entire time.
The staff at reception were very warm and welcoming.
All in all, if the refurb goes well this is a good hotel in NYC for a short leisure break.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Dream New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Rae_lovestravelling,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! We will definitely look into internal charges from our Food and Beverage outlets, I can assure you our renovation is not only from a product standpoint but from a procedures point as well.

Please know we have many different varieties of rooms at Dream and we can definitely accommodate you in a spacious room for your next stay. Just contact us directly and we will walk you through the best room that fits your needs.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,

Sabrina Pomilio
Director of Guest Services
spomilio@dreamny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was undergoing renovations including construction in the main lobby; this was not declared when i made my reservation. The paint smell was strong in the room. no hot water in the shower. The windows had very bad isolation for street noises or even wind.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Dream New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
SamerN11,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am terribly sorry you had to endure these issues while you were with us. I would advise you to please contact me directly at the email address below so I may help rectify your experience for you.

Warm Regards,

Sabrina Pomilio
Director of Guest Services
spomilio@dreamny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel close to Times Square and many other attractions. The staff are very friendly and helpful and always happy to help with anything you require.
The rooms are clean and comfortable with maid service daily and turn down service in the evening.
Although the hotel is going through a lot of refurbishments it doesn't affect the hospitality or any amenities.

Room Tip: My husband and I recenntly visited dream hotel NY and we upgraded to a queen room which was very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Dream New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Andrea W,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute a review about your recent stay! We are thrilled to hear you and your husband had a fantastic time at Dream Midtown. I will pass along your review to our team so they can hear how they contributed to your stay! We look forward to seeing you both in the future, please reach out to me directly so I may assist with reservation needs.

Warm Regards,

Sabrina Pomilio
Director of Guest Services
spomilio@dreamny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashby de la zouch
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the hotel is coming to the end of a refurb but despite this we enjoyed our stay. Some of the rooms are extremely small and if you staying any length of time we would suggest asking for a larger one. The location is great for central park and lots of deli's for breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the street. *14 rooms on each floor are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Dream New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
david h,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute a review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the convenient location of Dream Midtown! We are indeed at the end of our renovations and I hope you got to enjoy our newly remodeled lobby! We look forward to having you with us again, please reach out when you plan your next stay in NYC!

Warm Regards,

Sabrina Pomilio
Director of Guest Services
spomilio@dreamny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have recently returned from 5 nights at Dream Hotel. We booked 5 nights about 8 months ago and cost $1500. I spent lots of time looking for a hotel for our trip to celebrate our one year anniversary and had found a few in mind. I knew that there was some renovation going on at the time of booking but having consulted with the website, it said it would all be completed by Nov 2014 so we went for this one. However, it was still a construction site with a makeshift front desk. Indeed, you'd be forgiven for walking right past the hotel if you were none the wiser.

But that aside, the rooms were decent size, really comfortable beds and the hotel gave complimentary wifi because of the renovations. The staff were excellent and very friendly especially in the roof top bar which had great views (beware of the drinks prices though!)

Location was great. There's a subway right outside the front door and it is a few blocks from Central Park and about 10-15 min walk down to time square. The world famous Carnegie's deli is also right around the corner.

The only other down side was that we were in a room opposite the elevator so could hear it arrive each time including late at night.

Overall, decent stay but I was hoping all the construction would have been completed otherwise, I may have chosen to book elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Dream New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Tom D,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! I hope you and your wife enjoyed all NYC has to offer. I am terribly sorry if our renovations imposed any inconvenience on your stay. Despite our renovations, I am glad to hear you enjoyed our newly remodeled room. I can assure you that during your next stay we will make sure you have a comfortable, quiet room away from the elevator. We re-opened our lobby last weekend and it looks fantastic! I hope you and your wife would be willing to visit us again. Please contact me when you plan your next stay at Dream New York.

Warm Regards,

Sabrina Pomilio
Director of Guest Services
spomilio@dreamny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream New York

Address: 210 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream New York 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haute couture hotel created via the vision of hotel entrepreneur Vikram Chatwal. Dream's luxuriously appointed guest rooms are whimsically modern and adorned with the latest in technological delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dream New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream New York Hotel New York City
Dream Hotel New York City
Dream New York City
Dream Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.