We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare not a dream” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dream New York

Save Saved
You added Dream New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dream New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #333 of 453 Hotels in New York City
marlton, new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nightmare not a dream”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room and bathroom were tiny and staff was rude. Do not let reputation fool you. I would never go back. The New York half marathon was held the weekend we stayed. Had I not taken an early walk, I would not have found out. Because of the route of the race, the hotel's parking lot would not have been able to get the car until noon... hours later than we needed. When I pointed this out, the staff was rude and did not care. Too many good hotels in NYC to ever return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    445
    240
    131
    110
See reviews for
111
435
83
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is really well placed being only minutes from Times Square and a plethora of eating and drinking establishments. The beds are really comfortable and the rooms are a decent size. The staff were very helpful with a public transport related query I had on half marathon day also. However there are a few drawbacks. We were made to feel very unwelcome by the doorman of the rooftop bar when we attempted to have a drink on our first night. We weren't allowed to sit down for some reason and were only permitted to drink at the bar where there was no room. We decided to leave at this point having decided his behaviour was just too bizarre to cope with. Also some of the guests at this hotel seem incapable of being quiet around the lift areas throughout the night so be prepared to be disturbed if your room is near a lift. However that aside, the hotel is quiet if you are on a floor like the 7th or 8th with hardly any noise from the street and none from the bars on the ground floor and rooftop.

I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a mid-floor room away from the lifts (elevators).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eccles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by Michael who was really welcoming, smiley, friendly and helpful. Our room was much bigger than expected and so was the en suite bathroom with double shower! Fabulous! The bed was lovely, big and so comfortable, great to flop into after a long day walking around the city. There was a safe in the room where we could leave our valuables with piece of mind that they were secure. A well stocked mini bar, which we were warned not to pick up anything unless we were going to consume as it is touch sensitive and automatically adds onto the bill. The room was cleaned daily with lovely big oranges left on the pillows but we got a little confused with the tipping etiquette and think that was the reason the oranges ceased to be! One guide book said to leave a tip for the maid upon leaving the establishment, which we thought meant on the last day as we were checking out, but when we read another guide, it said to leave a tip daily! However, we read this too late and so left a large tip as we checked out. The views from the rooftop lounge are fabulous, especially Times Square at night. We got some great pics. There is a lift to all floors. The concierge was very friendly and helpful, advising us of the way to get to the Statue of Liberty and Central Park. On the day we checked out, we were able to leave our cases locked securely away in the lobby so that we could enjoy our last couple of hours, and the doorman also ordered a car to take us to the airport. Lovely car it was too and cheaper than the yellow cab we used, coming from the airport to the hotel, when we arrived! Overall, a fabulous stay, great location between Times Square and Central Park, will definitely stay here again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a hotel that provides a place to lay your head only. The location is great, we walked to the Beacon Theatre and Madison Square Garden easily as it is equally spaced between them. The standard room is small but tidy, the shower over the bath with curtain is a bit of a pain, and no tea or coffee facilities, which is a bit mean bearing in mind the cost.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel. Our check in was efficient. The front desk person was helpful and friendly. My room was on the fourth floor. It looked into the alley. I didn't hear any street noise, mostly because it was drowned out by a fairly loud heater. I thought the room was large by NYC standards. It was clean. The bathroom was also clean. There is a bar connected to the lobby that looked very busy on a Saturday night. There is also a rooftop lounge. I didn't go there. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerseydreamerr
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a few days after our wedding for a mini honeymoon. All of the staff was VERY friendly. We had a little billing issue in the beginning since the hotel was being paid for as a gift from my grandfather. Nadia at the front desk was so helpful and made sure everything was taken care of. We arrived early and were able to leave our bags so we could walk around and grab a bite to eat. We stayed in a "suite" which was two regular rooms merged together. It actually had two bathrooms which was nice when we both were rushing around getting ready. The rooms are on the smaller side, but you are in New York. They are nicely decorated and very clean. The beds are amazing!! We stayed here 3 nights and slept just fine. It is noisy but again, you are in New York City. We were on the 6th floor and could hear the street traffic but it did not stop either of us from getting a good nights sleep. And I am a very light sleeper. The only issue we had was the in room safe did not work. I asked them to fix it twice and no one ever came, but it turned out to not be a big deal. Overall, it is a great hotel for the price. The location is perfect for shows and stuff and has a subway stop right on the corner. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Interesting experience, in NYC for biz and stayed at the Dream. Great location, facility and the service was excellent. Only complaint...the hotel reverberated with music until oh dark hundred.

Must be getting old!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream New York

Address: 210 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haute couture hotel created via the vision of hotel entrepreneur Vikram Chatwal. Dream's luxuriously appointed guest rooms are whimsically modern and adorned with the latest in technological delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dream New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream New York Hotel New York City
Dream Hotel New York City
Dream New York City
Dream Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.