We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Midtown to your Saves list
Dream Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Dream New York) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #257 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was really cool, had a really funky modern vibe with a massive fish tank in the lobby. Rooms small but very comfy. The hotel is well located near Times Square and Central Park. If I go to NYC again will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    536
    270
    137
    115
See reviews for
145
508
114
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've traveled to NYC on business for more than 20 years now. I've stayed at a variety of hotels. Rarely have I had the stellar service I received from The Dream. The location, room and dining/bar were lovely. But, hands down, it was the staff that made this stay extraordinary for me. Mary O' Sullivan, hotel manager, personally assisted me with a business dilemma. It's no exaggeration to say that she saved my trip! From the oranges delivered to my room before bed, the staff that remembered my name, and all of the amenities, my stay was a delight. I look forward to my next visit and recommending The Dream New York to everyone I know.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, GO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I highly recommend the Dream Hotel. A convenient location, great customer service and unique decor make this boutique hotel even more exclusive. The food at Serafina restaurant was exquisite! On my first night at the hotel I found out why it's called Dream.The beds are heavenly! I travel to New York three times a year and will definitely made dream my home in New York City.Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Dream Hotel, right after Christmas. The hotel looked nice, the location was great, everything was great until we got to the reception.
The hotel manager (a blonde lady) has terrible communication skills, she treated us like some criminals trying to commit a fraud.
We just wanted to use another payment card (one for business) and she totally unable to simply tell us that they don't even have a machine to process the debit card!!!
However, her replacement in that night was very nice and helpful.
The room was nice and clean, but the toilet kept running and the noise was annoying, while the tub drain was stuck, the water drained sooo slowly.
The air conditioning was old and made a terrible noise, so every night we had to set the temperature very high to get some heat, and they to turn it off completely so we can get some sleep. Of course, in the morning, it was freezing in the room.
The last night was horrible. A group of people (probably drunk) who had two rooms on our floor, made a lot of noise, slamming doors, talking loud on the hallway; my husband asked them to stop (it was about midnight) and they continued. The reception wouldn't do anything (even if he saw them taking the elevator up and down, making a lot of noise in the lobby) until my husband went to the reception to complain.
So, people are tolerated to do whatever they want in the hotel, until someone complains; otherwise, the hotel personnel won't bother to do anything to ensure the quiet that the guests deserve.
My advice: don't go to this hotel! I am definitely not coming back there!
There are many other good hotels you can choose in Manhattan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at the Dream Hotel (55th & 7th) from 1/12 - 1/15/13 in room 716. Lobby - nice, liked the aquarium and ceiling; room - kind of small but spotlessly clean, great bed, bathroom was bright and clean; location - not bad; room service - quick; overall - very nice. I liked it. Sure, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: I think I'd go for a suite the next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a typical New York hotel which has had a recent makeover to turn it into a stylish boutique. Borrowing from the contemporary touches of Dream South Beach, you'll walk into a room with the shades down and the white bedding and walls bathed in pale blue light radiating from floor level bulbs. The Bose radio playing gentle music at the lowest possible volume completes the feeling of being shut away in your own quiet haven in the heart of NYC. My room was at the end of the corridor, so had its own mini-hallway which gave it extra space: I can't vouch for the size of the other rooms. The bathroom was well appointed with decent soap and toiletries but when I turned on the shower, as so often in these renovated buildings, the dated infrastructure showed through: it took a good couple of minutes for the water to warm at all, and a couple more for it to get to a temperature at which I could reduce the mixer tap from maximum heat. The TV reception was also surprisingly poor: a shaky picture and no HD in a newly renovated cutting edge hotel...bizarre. Wi-fi is available in the rooms but at a daily charge of $9.95 plus tax, something I strongly object to in this day and age. Downstairs, the design of the reception is in keeping with the modern feel of the hotel and there's a massive vertical cylindrical fish tank in the middle of the lobby. A bar playing dance music is off to the side and there's another bar on the roof which I didn't visit this time: something to try in the future. The location is hard to beat: you can walk down Broadway to Times Square or up to Central Park in 10 minutes, and you're surrounded by more restaurants, bars, delis, pharmacies and coffee shops than you'll ever manage to visit. A great new find and during January I got a spectacularly low price. Let's see how long that lasts!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The toilet kept breaking and the shower had no hot water-quit a problem in January. However the staff was wonderful.the rate was a reasonable one for New York and the location was very convenient but not having a toilet in working order was very unpleasant. They kept trying to fix it but who wants to change rooms at midnight?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Midtown

Address: 210 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Dream New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in New York City
#150 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haute couture hotel created via the vision of hotel entrepreneur Vikram Chatwal. Dream's luxuriously appointed guest rooms are whimsically modern and adorned with the latest in technological delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream New York Hotel New York City
Dream Hotel New York City
Dream New York City
Dream Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.