We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Dream New York to your Saves list
Dream New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed three nights in November, 2012. Mini family reunion - One sister from Baltimore, one from SLC and one from Sacramento! We hadn't stayed at the Dream before and were curious after we read some of the other reviews. We were IMPRESSED from the minute we walked in. Every member of the staff was friendly, happy to help and knowledgable. The rooms are typical NYC sized (small), but were well appointed, clean and comfortable. Turndown service with a delicious orange was a nice surprise. Restaurant and bars were great - walk to Times Square and all of the shopping and theatres. Loved it. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    460
    247
    132
    111
See reviews for
114
449
87
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The lobby way is fab and the decor beautiful.
Rooms are small and basic but its Manhattan and they were very clean.
Staff friendly and great.
THE BEST PART.......roof top bar and club, by far one of the best parts of our trip!
The club really comes alive at night and you can spend hours sitting in the sunshine watching the world go by from up there.
We were lucky enough to catch a concert wth Jay Z and Eminem being filmed on the roof top opposite while we were there sipping champagne..... GOOD TIMES!
Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you spend a lot of time in your room and like more space upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The positives: great location, hip vibe, nice rooftop bar, comfy beds. The negatives: it feels a bit worn, slow elevators, the shower had mold, and very noisy doors. I did not think you got enough bang for your buck.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream_NewY0rk, Director at Dream New York, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Nancy,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I can't apologize enough for not providing you a restful night which is any hotel's primary purpose. It’s simply unacceptable that we missed the opportunity to apologize, move you to one of the many quiet parts of the hotel and avoid this entire scenario. I can assure you that I will personally look into why we failed you.
With reference to the room conditions we have a very aggressive preventative maintenance program in place where we make sure that all of our guestrooms are in great working order and uphold the standards of Dream Hotels. We apologize that we didn’t quite get to your room prior to your stay. We also have some soft renovations planned for the following year with some wonderful changes and updates to look forward to.
I truly hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you at the Dream. Please reach out to me personally and I will ensure that your next experience is far different from your last.

Best regards,
Varun Malik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a great experience at the Dream. Staff friendly and professional, rooms spotless, location ideal (so easy to go for an early morning run in Central Park), bars and restaurants on site good and reasonable for New York, and even got a room upgrade which made an already competitive rate even better. It would take me a lot to want to stay anywhere else in NYC - as Goldilocks would say - just right!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I tried very hard to escape Manhattan before hurricane Sandy hit the city but could not get out in time. So I made the decision to find a hotel in midtown because I felt that they had a good chance of having power through the storm. We took a car service on Monday (the day the storm started to roll ashore) to the hotel early and had to wait for a few hours for the suite to be cleaned. That was alright with me because I knew that the hotel would be short staffed and any of the people who stayed or came to work would be a blessing. It was worth the wait. Barbara helped us at the front desk and was very kind and helpful. We continued to say hello and joke with her throughout the next three days about the storm and situation there. Our power did stay on, and Barbara worked around the clock to keep the hotel open and running while not being able to go home herself. The restaurant downstairs also stayed open throughout the stay and with some patience we ate and drank well every night. I am glad I weathered the storm here at Dream, very happy with the service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I are seniors and it was our first trip to New York, we stayed at The Dream Hotel, our experience was a wonderful surprise, great rooms, wonderful service, helpful staff, and close to everything, we would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Get the lower level rooms we were advised about this by the staff, because there is a night club on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There are some hotels that are just too hip for their own good. Dream is elegant and modern, but not too over the top hipster. It's not cheap, but it is lush and comfortable. The whole place has a feeling of decadent romance due to the materials used...fabrics, wood, steel. All very well executed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream New York

Address: 210 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream New York 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haute couture hotel created via the vision of hotel entrepreneur Vikram Chatwal. Dream's luxuriously appointed guest rooms are whimsically modern and adorned with the latest in technological delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dream New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream New York Hotel New York City
Dream Hotel New York City
Dream New York City
Dream Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.