We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dream New York

Save Saved
You added Dream New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dream New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #329 of 446 hotels in New York City
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“no value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Not clean, unfriendly staff, dark rooms, a lot of noise from elevator and club/bar. Gym closed and no information about this was given before hand. Bad bathroom products.
Other guests complained about the same thing when we checked out.
I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    432
    232
    123
    102
See reviews for
101
396
81
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If u have more than one luggage and u paid for regular room,
Ask to have a bigger room (they've some regular rooms which are a little bit bigger)
The location is Great, just couple of blocks from TimesSquare.

Recommend if it has a good price

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Inside and out. Thin walls, doors and windows. Sounds like there was a busy fire station next door on one side an a transfer station on the other. Awful night's sleep. Doors slam loudly by default and there were many late night guests on my hallway

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream_NewY0rk, Director at Dream New York, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Richba,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I can't apologize enough for not providing you a restful night which is any hotel's primary purpose. It is true that the hotel lobby and rooftop lounge comes to life in the evenings which is quite poular with the locals, however It’s simply unacceptable that we missed the opportunity to apologize, and move you to any of the quiet parts of the hotel and avoid this entire scenario, I truly hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you at the Dream. Please reach out to me personally and I will ensure that your next experience is far different from your last.

Best regards,
Varun Malik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I had a reservation at Dream NY for October 11th to 14th, which I cancelled. I decided to stay at the Renaissance 57 instead which was over $100 less a night and fantastic! While on my vacation in NYC I received an alert on my phone that Dream NY had charged my credit card over $500. I called them immediately to ask about the charge and they said I had not cancelled my reservation. I had cancelled it on August 23rd. They are now refusing to refund me so I am disputing the charge on my credit card..

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great location, stiff price... Hole in hotelroom floor???? But all in all worth a stay.... Slooooooow elevators... 3 min walk to Times Square, Carnegie hall 1 min walk.. Subway any direction 1 min walk...:)))

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I enjoyed staying at the Dream. But the rooms are small (even for NYC) and for the price, I think there should be at least a real window in the room... Nice, though small bed and good sized bathrooms. Elevators are a mess...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Set in a brilliant location, with courteous staff and adequate sized rooms, Dream was about average. We stayed for 5 nights and although it was spotless when we checked in, our room was not made up on two occasions (Saturday and Sunday), leaving us without clean towels and meaning that we had to make up our own bed. More concerning is that on the last day my girlfriend noticed that her leg was covered in bites, which we have since learned are from bed bugs. Clearly this is a problem in many NYC hotels, and a general hazard in most big destinations, but it tainted the last day of our holiday. Perhaps if the bed had been made up this could have been avoided. Also somewhere to stow luggage would be handy as my open suit case had to stay on the floor for the duration of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream_NewY0rk, Director at Dream New York, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dream Tom L,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about our courteous staff and our property. With reference to the condition of the room kindly note that we did respond to the concerns you brought up immediately as we have a very aggressive Pest Control Program in the hotel and all tests came out negative.

I feel terrible that the last part of your trip wasn't a pleasant one, however please feel free to reach our to me directly should you wish to discuss the matter further.

With best regards,
Varun Malik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dream New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream New York

Also Known As:
Dream New York Hotel
Dream New York Hotel New York City
Dream Hotel New York City
Dream New York City
Dream Hotel New York
Dream Hotel
Dream Hotel Nyc
Dream Hotel Ny
Address: 210 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haute couture hotel created via the vision of hotel entrepreneur Vikram Chatwal. Dream's luxuriously appointed guest rooms are whimsically modern and adorned with the latest in technological delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Amex, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Dream New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.