We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican food with a gourmet twist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toloache, New York City

Toloache, New York City
251 West 50th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
+1 212-581-1818
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Toloache, New York City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between Broadway and 8th Avenue
Transit: Take the C or E Trains to 50th St.; the 1 Train to 50th St.; and the N, R, or W Trains to 49th St.
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mexican food with a gourmet twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went late last Friday after a Broadway musical and loved this place. Silvia was terrific. We had a special Margarita with blue tequila and agave and ordered two dishes to share: the huitlacoche and black truffle quesadillas and tacos with fish and jicama. Both were delicious, very tasty. Ordered churros with cajeta and chocolet and was ok. It was my birthday and she brought us complimentary tequila shots. I would definetely go again on my next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    226
    58
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Awesome interior. I love Mexican food, so wanted to try Toloache. Extensive margarita menu, but wasn't overly impressed by the menu--everything we had was very good though. My mom and I split several dishes and were satisfied, but it likely would not have been enough food if I had come with my husband.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We checked out this place as we were looking for a place to have a drink...and loved this place. Great selection of specialty tequila cocktails and mine was wonderful. The bar staff was terrific. We didn't eat here, but I'm guessing the food is darn good because the place was packed. Wish we had time to go back for a meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I went to this restaurant for lunch without a reservation. We waited about 30+ minutes for our entrées. This was the only negative we experienced, and the wait was worth it. I had the chicken quesadilla and the red Sangria which were both flavorful. I also had a side of sweet plantains that were amazing. Overall this place had excellent food (I don't recall what my husband had, but the pieces I stole from his plate were very delicious), and I would dine there again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Tables are placed very near to each other. It was full of people and you cannot talk to the person on other side of table. When everyone is talking, its difficult to communicate. Food was Ok. Not the best food. Just Ok. I will not go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toloache, New York City also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Toloache, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toloache, New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.