We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Garden In Chelsea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Garden In Chelsea
439 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We spent 9 nights here over Christmas and it was fantastic. Close to Subway, Chelsea Markets and Pier with many great restaurants/cafes/pubs within walking distance. The 2nd floor apartment was well appointed and suited 4 adults well. Karen & Paul were awesome hosts from the first contact to our final day in NYC. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

A Garden in Chelsea felt like our home away from home. Karen and Paul had put in a lot of thought to ensure that our stay was very comfortable, and were always on hand in case we needed anything. The location is perfect, being about a 5 min walk to the subway, about 5 min walk to the Chelsea Market and the Highline and Chelsea Piers are at the end of the street. We would highly recommend A Garden in Chelsea and wouldn't think twice about staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

The location is excellent, just 3 1/2 blocks from the 8th Ave subway that runs uptown/downtown. The apartment is lovely with comfy beds, big bathroom, efficient kitchenette and well stocked bookshelves, located in a quiet residential area that is a welcome relief from the bustle and hustle of the city. Gourmet Deli and wine shop close by to stock the mini-fridge. The owners, Carol and Paul, are welcoming and helpful. In all, a great place to stay to really enjoy New York.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We found A Garden in Chelsea a terrifically located place to stay in NYC. We stayed in the 2nd floor apartment which was roomy, quiet and comfortably furnished. We were able to self cater as well as access the many restaurants in the area. Our hosts Karen and Paul were friendly and informative. A great place to base yourself for a 7 day stay and to experience NYC as a local.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The five of us (two parents and three adult "kids") stayed in the studio mid October. Only blocks away from the Highline, Chelsea Market and subway - which allows you to access the rest of New York City within minutes. A great place to return to after pounding the pavement all day - or just spending a few hours relaxing in a pleasant, familiar environment. We would love to try the garden unit sometime - as a couple. Next time. Highly recommended. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have just spent 6 wonderful days staying in the studio apartment. The location is perfect for exploring all that NYC has to offer. The restaurant choice is endless in Chelsea, with many good places to eat within easy walking distance after exhausting days of sightseeing. Having a small kitchen to prepare breakfast is a real plus. Large comfortable bed and very modern bathroom added to a perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to New York with our one year old and were delighted with how baby friendly the studio apartment was.
It is below street level (basement) so it was easy to access with baby and stroller with few stairs leading down to it.
The apartment was equipped with a crib and high chair which made our life a lot easier and made it feel a lot more homely than some of the hotels we've stayed in.
The kitchen also made it easy to prepare baby meals etc.
The apartment is in a brilliant location and Karen and Paul are lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Garden In Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Garden In Chelsea

Address: 439 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy staying in an 1859 brownstone in the Historic Chelsea district with your own private garden. Your studio apartment opens directly onto the garden and offers extreme ease and comfort. We are know for being extremely quiet though only block away from the bustle of the city.Located a block from the new elevated High Line Park and the Chelsea art galleries, you couldn't pick a more ideal spot for your NYC visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Garden In Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Garden In Chelsea to your Saves list