We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Garden In Chelsea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Garden In Chelsea
439 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
Paradise Point, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A lovely stay in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have just spent 6 wonderful days staying in the studio apartment. The location is perfect for exploring all that NYC has to offer. The restaurant choice is endless in Chelsea, with many good places to eat within easy walking distance after exhausting days of sightseeing. Having a small kitchen to prepare breakfast is a real plus. Large comfortable bed and very modern bathroom added to a perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to New York with our one year old and were delighted with how baby friendly the studio apartment was.
It is below street level (basement) so it was easy to access with baby and stroller with few stairs leading down to it.
The apartment was equipped with a crib and high chair which made our life a lot easier and made it feel a lot more homely than some of the hotels we've stayed in.
The kitchen also made it easy to prepare baby meals etc.
The apartment is in a brilliant location and Karen and Paul are lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is one of my favorite neighborhood.s in NYC. Always bustling, beautiful tree lined streets, smiling people and great little shops and restaurants. This place feels like a neighborhood even with some big name chains on the corners. Very diverse people live here in harmony.

A Chelsea is garden is home away from home. Fabulous and Clean offering primo location to anywhere you want to go.

I recommend A Garden in Chelsea <3 My fav!!!

Room Tip: Rear Facing the Garden <3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A real gem: a thoughtfully equipped studio apartment with a huge bed and fabulous new shower room, leading onto a shady garden, perfect for coffee and croissants. Located in a townhouse on an historic tree-lined street, a short stroll to the High Line on 10th Avenue, the Hudson River park and to a multitude of restaurants and delis, this is Manhattan at its most romantic. Buses and the subway are close by for easy access to other parts of New York City.

This was the first time I had used the internet to rent an apartment in the USA and I was apprehensive. My worries were unfounded. Owners Karen Jacob and Paul Vershbow live on site and are welcoming, friendly hosts (but not intrusive), and have a wealth of local information. This was particularly reassuring when I needed urgent dental treatment.

I would recommend A Garden in Chelsea to any couple, pairs of friends or to people travelling alone, who are looking for something more than an impersonal hotel. My partner and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A wonderful 5 nights in this exquisite apartment overlooking peaceful secret gardens in Chelsea. Karen and Paul could not have been better hosts. Super helpful and considerate. A large light living room overlooking a tree lined street. A large quiet bedroom at the back. Woken by bird song each morning. We'll be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A lovely oasis to come back to after the hubbub of the city! Spacious, homey, with plenty of space to put your stuff. Birdsong in the morning, quiet in the evening--a perfect home away from home.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a find! After a full and exciting day in the big NYC, retreat to the most perfect oasis you will ever find. A Garden in Chelsea offers everything you could want. Charm, location, amenities & gracious hosts, Karen & Paul, who share their local knowledge with you. The joy of staying in a brownstone in Chelsea with a garden included is absolutely unbeatable. This is the place I will be staying again & again. I am too spoiled to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Garden In Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Garden In Chelsea

Address: 439 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy staying in an 1859 brownstone in the Historic Chelsea district with your own private garden. Your studio apartment opens directly onto the garden and offers extreme ease and comfort. We are know for being extremely quiet though only block away from the bustle of the city.Located a block from the new elevated High Line Park and the Chelsea art galleries, you couldn't pick a more ideal spot for your NYC visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Garden In Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Garden In Chelsea to your Saves list