We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Garden In Chelsea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Garden In Chelsea
Save Saved
You added A Garden In Chelsea to your Saves list
439 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
cheshire uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had been looking for a holiday rental in nyc because they usually allow enough space for the four of us (sons 18 & 20) to stay together and offer great flexibility - but having realised the difficulty of finding a legal holiday rental, I was delighted to find that 'A Garden in Chelsea' could offer all that we were looking for. We stayed in the 2nd/ 3rd floor (2 floors above entrance level) apartment which was very spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped - we felt truly 'at home' there and it was always great to come back there to relax after our busy days and evenings.
We had a large bedroom with a very comfortable bed and plenty of closet space (we were staying 7 nights). The lounge had a large, comfortable sofa bed which my sons shared - although Karen also offered temporary beds if required. We left the bed made up whilst we were there, as there were two further comfortable chairs and also a table and chairs, so there was still plenty of room for the four of us to share the lounge together whilst in the apartment. The kitchen and bathroom were quite small but more than adequate for our needs and it was perfectly possible to cook a meal should you wish to do so. There was also a closet in the hallway with ample hanging space for us all to use.
We loved the location of 'A Garden in Chelsea'. We had chosen Chelsea because it was well positioned between Downtown and Uptown with a number of major sights being within walking distance and also some attractions of its own. In addition to this it also proved a great neighbourhood to be in and we would have liked more time to explore it further - it was also very quiet and we had no trouble sleeping. The location also suited us well as we attended two events at Madison Square Garden (basketball & concert) and also went to the Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre (improv comedy) and these were both within easy walking distance and it was great not to have to go too far in the evenings after busy days sightseeing.
Karen was always helpful and prompt to answer enquiries during the booking process and both Karen and Paul were friendly and helpful during our visit and we felt that they were available should we have needed any advice/help.
The only difficulty I could see with this accomodation is that the stairs are quite steep for anybody who has any mobility issues - the basement accomodation did however appear to be easily accessible, with just a few external steps down to it. Should you be attracted by the garden, there is no access to this from the upstairs accomodation but we were fully aware of this when booking and it did not concern us as we were there during early April.
Should we be fortunate enough to visit New York in the future, I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granville, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We took our two boys to Manhattan for spring break, and stayed in the basement apartment which has been newly renovated. Perfect condition, easy in-and-out to the street. An oasis when our boys "hit the wall." The owners (Karen and Paul) are fantastic...everything went so smooth, we already booked our next visit.

Room Tip: No swimming look and fitness center...but we weren't looking for those things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the top floor apartment of this B&B for three nights and we could not have wished for better accommodation. This apartment is tastefully decorated throughout and filled with books and family pictures, which makes it really cosy and exactly the opposite of hotel rooms, which sometimes feel a bit cold and impersonal.

Its location is perfect, in the beautiful area of Chelsea, very close to the underground and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The owner is really nice and welcomed us with a friendly smile and some useful recommendations on restaurants to try.

Since our apartment was self-catering, I cannot comment on the breakfast but I strongly recommend this place to anyone who want to have a wonderful, comfortable place to stay during their holiday without compromising on character. Top marks!

Room Tip: Stay in the self-catering, one bedroom top floor flat for a real "New Yorker" experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband, 9 month old and I stayed here in the 1st week of March, just after the bathroom and apartment had been newly renovated. We found our stay very comfortable and Karen was very friendly and accommodating and a wealth of NYC information.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this as a place to stay in NY. The location is fantastic and there are plenty of local restaurants / cafes very close by. The street was lovely and quiet and I felt very safe the entire trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at at A Garden In Chelsea for 11 nights over Christmas and New Years in December 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

It was our first time staying at a B&B so were a little unsure what to expect but after spending the previous 3 weeks in hotels it was a very welcome change. Karen and Paul the hosts were very accommodating and friendly and were always willing for a quick chat when we ran into them.

The room itself was in then basement which gave it a very cosy and homely charm. It has a private kitchen and small dining area as well as a bathroom. It's quite large compared to Manhatten standards. After extremely busy days exploring the sights of NYC it was nice to return home to our own little haven.

Perfect location in the heart of Chelsea with an abundance of restaurants close by, as well a walking distance to the famed Chelsea Markets and the Subway. It was nice to get away from the hotel scene and we actually felt a little like 'locals' staying at the Garden.

I hope to return to NYC in the coming years and this place will be the first thing I book.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The spacious second floor apartment had a homey and artistic feel, quality furnishings, clean and ready, very handy kitchen in a quiet, safe neighborhood. The subway was very convenient, as were restaurants of all sorts and stores for essentials. We did fine with the stairs and were told before hand (not elderly, but not spring chickens!). Easy to stop on the way upstairs and admire the great movie posters, if necessary. Paul and Karen helped us with our suitcases, too. Karen and Paul were totally available with helpful information and printed our plane tickets when it was time to go (just before the storm!). The WIFI was great for my iPad and TV reception perfect as we rested for the next full day. We prepared breakfasts and quite a few dinners for the 8 days we were there. Terrific stay, would come again and again. Thanks Karen and Paul!

Room Tip: I had hoped to have access to garden...not necessary, too much to do in New York- get out early and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in the second floor apartment for 9 nights. The street itself is quiet and lined with glorious brownstones. The apartment has everything you need, a comfortable and spacious lounge/dining room, a kitchen, a very quiet bedroom and beautiful views from both the bedroom and lounge room. It's definitely has more ambience than a standard hotel room that are much the same all over the world. We walked all over NYC from here - from the Upper East Side as well as from the Village. Karen was available to answer our questions about NYC, book a car to the airport and even posted our post cards for us! Great service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Garden In Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Garden In Chelsea

Address: 439 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy staying in an 1859 brownstone in the Historic Chelsea district with your own private garden. Your studio apartment opens directly onto the garden and offers extreme ease and comfort. We are know for being extremely quiet though only block away from the bustle of the city.Located a block from the new elevated High Line Park and the Chelsea art galleries, you couldn't pick a more ideal spot for your NYC visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Garden In Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.