We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class accommodation with a real "New York" feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Garden In Chelsea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Garden In Chelsea
439 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
Brussels
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top class accommodation with a real "New York" feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the top floor apartment of this B&B for three nights and we could not have wished for better accommodation. This apartment is tastefully decorated throughout and filled with books and family pictures, which makes it really cosy and exactly the opposite of hotel rooms, which sometimes feel a bit cold and impersonal.

Its location is perfect, in the beautiful area of Chelsea, very close to the underground and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The owner is really nice and welcomed us with a friendly smile and some useful recommendations on restaurants to try.

Since our apartment was self-catering, I cannot comment on the breakfast but I strongly recommend this place to anyone who want to have a wonderful, comfortable place to stay during their holiday without compromising on character. Top marks!

Room Tip: Stay in the self-catering, one bedroom top floor flat for a real "New Yorker" experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband, 9 month old and I stayed here in the 1st week of March, just after the bathroom and apartment had been newly renovated. We found our stay very comfortable and Karen was very friendly and accommodating and a wealth of NYC information.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this as a place to stay in NY. The location is fantastic and there are plenty of local restaurants / cafes very close by. The street was lovely and quiet and I felt very safe the entire trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at at A Garden In Chelsea for 11 nights over Christmas and New Years in December 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

It was our first time staying at a B&B so were a little unsure what to expect but after spending the previous 3 weeks in hotels it was a very welcome change. Karen and Paul the hosts were very accommodating and friendly and were always willing for a quick chat when we ran into them.

The room itself was in then basement which gave it a very cosy and homely charm. It has a private kitchen and small dining area as well as a bathroom. It's quite large compared to Manhatten standards. After extremely busy days exploring the sights of NYC it was nice to return home to our own little haven.

Perfect location in the heart of Chelsea with an abundance of restaurants close by, as well a walking distance to the famed Chelsea Markets and the Subway. It was nice to get away from the hotel scene and we actually felt a little like 'locals' staying at the Garden.

I hope to return to NYC in the coming years and this place will be the first thing I book.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The spacious second floor apartment had a homey and artistic feel, quality furnishings, clean and ready, very handy kitchen in a quiet, safe neighborhood. The subway was very convenient, as were restaurants of all sorts and stores for essentials. We did fine with the stairs and were told before hand (not elderly, but not spring chickens!). Easy to stop on the way upstairs and admire the great movie posters, if necessary. Paul and Karen helped us with our suitcases, too. Karen and Paul were totally available with helpful information and printed our plane tickets when it was time to go (just before the storm!). The WIFI was great for my iPad and TV reception perfect as we rested for the next full day. We prepared breakfasts and quite a few dinners for the 8 days we were there. Terrific stay, would come again and again. Thanks Karen and Paul!

Room Tip: I had hoped to have access to garden...not necessary, too much to do in New York- get out early and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in the second floor apartment for 9 nights. The street itself is quiet and lined with glorious brownstones. The apartment has everything you need, a comfortable and spacious lounge/dining room, a kitchen, a very quiet bedroom and beautiful views from both the bedroom and lounge room. It's definitely has more ambience than a standard hotel room that are much the same all over the world. We walked all over NYC from here - from the Upper East Side as well as from the Village. Karen was available to answer our questions about NYC, book a car to the airport and even posted our post cards for us! Great service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just returned from a 2 weeks stay in the garden apartment with my wife and it was wonderful! The flat itself could not nave been better, furnished with everything including an excellent library (which I wish I had more time with as it included many books on my "to read" list!), good kitchen and bathroom facilities, wifi, cable TV, and an excellent large bed. The garden was an added bonus - it was a lovely place to sit after a hard day of sightseeing. The hosts, Karen and Paul, could not have been more helpful. I note a previous comment on the steps to the upstairs flat; I have a disability and found no problems with the steps accessing the garden apartment.So if you do have any mobility problem, make sure you book this apartment..

The location was also fantastic,in a quiet tree lined street, close to good restaurants, a laundary, and a subway station on a good line. Though if you were more energetic you could walk to the village, or Times Square! Unlke the experience of staying in a hotel, turning into the street in the evening really felt like coming home! I would certainly recommed this place to anyone, and hope to return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico CIty
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent a week at the Garden in Chelsea in a second floor apartment so no garden for us. It is our first apartment experience in NYC and we have mixed feelings. On the pro sides the place is on a perfect destination for retreating out from the buzz and noise of the very crowded touristic atractions. It is nice to have a place away to recover with a home feeling. The apartment is well appointed with everything you need to make your stay comfortable. Beds and linen were decent and clean also towels and kitchen. Be aware of having the strength to escalate 36 steps above in a steep narrow stair with your luggage, we were never warned we would have to experience that! So it is not an accesible place for elderly or injured people. My knees are still swelling! Also we felt a litlle bit like intruders, since you stay in a place filled with personal belongings of the family, that feeling never went away during our stay and that is not comfortable. It was not as clean as you would expect for what you invest, they could do better, we had to clean it twice before using it! Also we could never connect to the wi fi, and have to go downstairs to catch another wifi in case needed. Be aware of that if you are going in a business trip.
Karen the owner was nice and helpful by email but since they were absent during the same week, nobody could really help us in any way. Mixed feelings.

Room Tip: Be aware of asking where you are going to be booked! The upper apartments are not accesible for elde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Garden In Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Garden In Chelsea

Address: 439 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy staying in an 1859 brownstone in the Historic Chelsea district with your own private garden. Your studio apartment opens directly onto the garden and offers extreme ease and comfort. We are know for being extremely quiet though only block away from the bustle of the city.Located a block from the new elevated High Line Park and the Chelsea art galleries, you couldn't pick a more ideal spot for your NYC visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Garden In Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Garden In Chelsea to your Saves list