We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Garden In Chelsea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Garden In Chelsea
Save
You added A Garden In Chelsea to your Saves list
439 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 87 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ukiah, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The spacious second floor apartment had a homey and artistic feel, quality furnishings, clean and ready, very handy kitchen in a quiet, safe neighborhood. The subway was very convenient, as were restaurants of all sorts and stores for essentials. We did fine with the stairs and were told before hand (not elderly, but not spring chickens!). Easy to stop on the way upstairs and admire the great movie posters, if necessary. Paul and Karen helped us with our suitcases, too. Karen and Paul were totally available with helpful information and printed our plane tickets when it was time to go (just before the storm!). The WIFI was great for my iPad and TV reception perfect as we rested for the next full day. We prepared breakfasts and quite a few dinners for the 8 days we were there. Terrific stay, would come again and again. Thanks Karen and Paul!

Room Tip: I had hoped to have access to garden...not necessary, too much to do in New York- get out early and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in the second floor apartment for 9 nights. The street itself is quiet and lined with glorious brownstones. The apartment has everything you need, a comfortable and spacious lounge/dining room, a kitchen, a very quiet bedroom and beautiful views from both the bedroom and lounge room. It's definitely has more ambience than a standard hotel room that are much the same all over the world. We walked all over NYC from here - from the Upper East Side as well as from the Village. Karen was available to answer our questions about NYC, book a car to the airport and even posted our post cards for us! Great service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just returned from a 2 weeks stay in the garden apartment with my wife and it was wonderful! The flat itself could not nave been better, furnished with everything including an excellent library (which I wish I had more time with as it included many books on my "to read" list!), good kitchen and bathroom facilities, wifi, cable TV, and an excellent large bed. The garden was an added bonus - it was a lovely place to sit after a hard day of sightseeing. The hosts, Karen and Paul, could not have been more helpful. I note a previous comment on the steps to the upstairs flat; I have a disability and found no problems with the steps accessing the garden apartment.So if you do have any mobility problem, make sure you book this apartment..

The location was also fantastic,in a quiet tree lined street, close to good restaurants, a laundary, and a subway station on a good line. Though if you were more energetic you could walk to the village, or Times Square! Unlke the experience of staying in a hotel, turning into the street in the evening really felt like coming home! I would certainly recommed this place to anyone, and hope to return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico CIty
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent a week at the Garden in Chelsea in a second floor apartment so no garden for us. It is our first apartment experience in NYC and we have mixed feelings. On the pro sides the place is on a perfect destination for retreating out from the buzz and noise of the very crowded touristic atractions. It is nice to have a place away to recover with a home feeling. The apartment is well appointed with everything you need to make your stay comfortable. Beds and linen were decent and clean also towels and kitchen. Be aware of having the strength to escalate 36 steps above in a steep narrow stair with your luggage, we were never warned we would have to experience that! So it is not an accesible place for elderly or injured people. My knees are still swelling! Also we felt a litlle bit like intruders, since you stay in a place filled with personal belongings of the family, that feeling never went away during our stay and that is not comfortable. It was not as clean as you would expect for what you invest, they could do better, we had to clean it twice before using it! Also we could never connect to the wi fi, and have to go downstairs to catch another wifi in case needed. Be aware of that if you are going in a business trip.
Karen the owner was nice and helpful by email but since they were absent during the same week, nobody could really help us in any way. Mixed feelings.

Room Tip: Be aware of asking where you are going to be booked! The upper apartments are not accesible for elde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent three nights in the apartment and loved it! We have rented 4 different apartment type places (all legal) in New York City, and this was by far the best! The location is ideal for exploring Chelsea (Highline, Chelsea market) or walking a few short blocks to a subway to explore any part of New York City. The bedroom is extremely quiet and there is minimal street noise in the living room. The apartment is incredibly well furnished with shampoo, conditioner, soap, robes, hair dryer, and basic breakfast supplies (coffee, tea, milk, sweeteners). There are two large groceries within 3 blocks. You can carry in food, have food delivered, or enjoy the many many restaurants in the area (or throughout the city). The hosts (Karen and Paul) are incredibly friendly and helpful.

We visit New York City at least once a year. We try to stay in a different area for each visit. But, it will hard not to return to A Garden in Chelsea for our next visit. It is a true gem!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leura, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We have just returned from a 2-week stay at a Garden in Chelsea in NYC. This apartment is located on the basement level of a heritage brownstone house in the historic district of Chelsea.

The accommodation was fantastic and was a real highlight of our stay. The apartment is very well set up and includes a small kitchen, a huge comfortable bed, a sitting/dining area, a nice bathroom with plush towels and access to a lovely garden. It was a wonderful retreat at the end of a busy day sight seeing.

The apartment is really well located in easy walking distance to many fabulous restaurants, shops, the Chelsea Markets and the High Line as well as the subway. Our hosts Karen and Paul were full of helpful information on the area and were very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed in the downstairs apartment for just under a week and it was perfect. What more could you ask for than a nice bed with good mattresses, a well-lit bathroom with a powerful warm shower, a couple of armchairs for when you need to put your feet up, a small kitchen for preparing tea and nibbles, a garden outside - and amazing quiet at night. Oh, and the location was great as well - close to the High Line park for strolls, great restaurants (we tried both the Chinese and Indian close by and they were excellent) and easy access to both cross- and up-/downtown transport. We'll be back and try out the bicycle lane on 9th Ave next time :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#1 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,763 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#208 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,681 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#54 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,001 reviews
Chelsea
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Garden In Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Garden In Chelsea

Address: 439 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy staying in an 1859 brownstone in the Historic Chelsea district with your own private garden. Your studio apartment opens directly onto the garden and offers extreme ease and comfort. We are know for being extremely quiet though only block away from the bustle of the city.Located a block from the new elevated High Line Park and the Chelsea art galleries, you couldn't pick a more ideal spot for your NYC visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Garden In Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.