We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New York City Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Garden In Chelsea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Garden In Chelsea
439 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Leura, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A New York City Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We have just returned from a 2-week stay at a Garden in Chelsea in NYC. This apartment is located on the basement level of a heritage brownstone house in the historic district of Chelsea.

The accommodation was fantastic and was a real highlight of our stay. The apartment is very well set up and includes a small kitchen, a huge comfortable bed, a sitting/dining area, a nice bathroom with plush towels and access to a lovely garden. It was a wonderful retreat at the end of a busy day sight seeing.

The apartment is really well located in easy walking distance to many fabulous restaurants, shops, the Chelsea Markets and the High Line as well as the subway. Our hosts Karen and Paul were full of helpful information on the area and were very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed in the downstairs apartment for just under a week and it was perfect. What more could you ask for than a nice bed with good mattresses, a well-lit bathroom with a powerful warm shower, a couple of armchairs for when you need to put your feet up, a small kitchen for preparing tea and nibbles, a garden outside - and amazing quiet at night. Oh, and the location was great as well - close to the High Line park for strolls, great restaurants (we tried both the Chinese and Indian close by and they were excellent) and easy access to both cross- and up-/downtown transport. We'll be back and try out the bicycle lane on 9th Ave next time :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed in the 3rd floor apartment at ‘A Garden in Chelsea’ for 4 weeks from late December through to the end of January 2012. Karen and Paul were wonderful hosts and a wealth of knowledge from shopping tips (January shoe sales!!) to what shows to see. The apartment is close to the subway (2 stops to Midtown) and within walking distance to Maceys, Empire State, Chelsea Markets, Greenwich Village. There are many good diners, cafes and restaurants an easy walk away on 9th and 10th avenues. Although not the coldest winter on record it was pretty chilly for us Aussies but the apartment was always very warm and cosy. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have slept in and there was always a plentiful supply of fresh towels. The kitchen served us well for breakfasts and the occasional dinner (with so many great cheap places to eat nearby we ate out most of the time). There is a supermarket that has everything (including vegemite) a block away and the wonderful Chelsea Markets (Amys breads are to die for) about a 10 minute walk. The apartment is in the middle of a residential street so was very quiet compared with the Midtown area. Karen made us feel like we were staying with old friends and after a long day of sightseeing and exploring returning to the apartment felt like home. We loved our stay so much we didn’t want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My partner and I stay in hotels a lot with our work, and were keen to immerse ourselves in something a little more 'homely'. The apartment met, and exceeded, our expectations, providing a comfortable place to 'hang our hats' while exploring New York. There is plenty of room in the apartment, a bed that is very inviting, a kitchenette to whip up an intimate dinner, wifi access, and a courtyard to absorb the serenity. The weather was turning cool for our stay (mid November) but the heating kept us toasty warm. The location suited us perfectly with ready access to the Highline, Chelsea Market and an easy stroll to the subway. The place is very clean, and well maintained, providing a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of such a vibrant city. Highly recommended, and we'd be delighted to stay again. Paul and Helen from Australia.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had the third floor apartment for a four-day weekend in November. Having a living room, kitchen and bedroom was so much nicer than staying in a hotel, especially since the bedroom was at the back where it was very quiet. There were family pictures on the walls, so we felt as if we were staying with friends, not in some impersonal spot. We already knew we loved the neighbourhood and this visit confirmed that; the proximity of the High Line and the Chelsea Market is a big plus. Other parts of Manhattan are easy to get to on the subway. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at A Garden in Chelsea over four days in November. We had the garden level double with twin beds. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. The room includes a kitchenette which we did not use, but would certainly serve for breakfast or lunch. The room was incredibly quiet--no traffic noise at all. The proprieters, Karen and Paul, could not have been more helpful regarding restaurant suggestions and sightseeing tips. The location was convenient to the subway and several good restaurants were within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My girlfriend and I have stayed twice at the apartment and both times we have had a lovely stay.

The apartment is situated in a wonderful Brownstone on a picturesque street in Chelsea. With a good sized bedroom and bathroom and large living area all beautifully furnished, it's a place you're happy to spend time and relax in. Karen who runs the apartment is a charming, friendly host and a fountain of knowledge of the city.

A Garden in Chelsea is always our first choice when we come to NYC and we hope to have many more stays there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Garden In Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Garden In Chelsea

Also Known As:
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel New York City
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel
Address: 439 West 22nd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy staying in an 1859 brownstone in the Historic Chelsea district with your own private garden. Your studio apartment opens directly onto the garden and offers extreme ease and comfort. We are know for being extremely quiet though only block away from the bustle of the city.Located a block from the new elevated High Line Park and the Chelsea art galleries, you couldn't pick a more ideal spot for your NYC visit. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Garden In Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Garden In Chelsea to your Saves list