We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC Plaza Hotel Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Plaza Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Spectacular
Ranked #163 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Park Ridge, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NYC Plaza Hotel Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Great Service. Concierge went over & above in helping us with recommendations, tickets and directions. The room was very spacious, quiet and the décor was awesome. Incredible Chocolate Empire State Building given to us on our first night was delicious and started the trip off on a great note!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy L, Hotel Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, in particular that our Concierge team was able to go above and beyond. I will be sure to share this with them. Thank you again for your post.

Warm regards,
Tracy Lowe, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    218
    116
    63
    49
See reviews for
303
398
52
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The Plaza Hotel is a trademark for NYC, but if I could give you a recommendation save your money and stay somewhere else. Although it is very beautiful (rooms are pretty) the service is nothing close then two stars. We arrived with the Bride who may I add we rented out 19 rooms total. When we checked in bellhops were giving us attitude because they had to separate our luggage because we arrived in one car (and 4 total people going to 2 rooms) we gave him a 20 dollar tip for 6 pieces of luggage and some hanging dresses and didn't even get a thank you. They were supposed to call when our rooms were ready never did. We paid to have welcome gift boxes delivered to guest rooms. They arrived late and all in the wedding party did not receive then til after the rehearsal dinner which then the point was mute. We needed help carrying some flowers to our limo we had delivered to the shop downstairs in the plaza and they told us it was a liability for any bellhop to help us carry anything but luggage so we had to do everything ourselves. (Very easy task as bridesmaids in heels....not) We stayed in the penthouse and requested a bar stool to do make up and hair in. 3 phone calls later and 2 hours wasted we finally got it. So though it is a beautiful hotel do not consider staying here in a wedding party, and if you're just a guest from out of town I would save your money and use it to see a show instead:), stay somewhere and get good service.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy L, Hotel Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear of your experience, as it is not typical feedback we receive from our wedding guests. Please contact me at tracy.lowe@fairmont.com so I can do a proper follow-up and investigate these particular issues further.

Warm regards,
Tracy Lowe, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

My Husband and I frequent The Plaza about four times a year and look forward to it every time.
We are always treated very well and they always do little things to make our experience better every time we travel there. We have had the same concierge there for years now and they always do a great job. Love the food, beds are so comfortable, and the rose room is gorgeous. Overall worth the money for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy L, Hotel Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are thrilled that The Plaza has become your home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to New York!

Warm regards,
Tracy Lowe, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Very disappointing. There was nothing exceptional about this hotel. Staff were not particularly friendly, facilities were below average for a five star hotel, and the stay was not memorable. I would personally recommend another hotel when in NYC


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Plaza for 4 nights our experience was nothing less then memorable. Everything about The Plaza screams rich history. From the second you step on the property to the moment you leave you are treated as royalty! If you have a chance to stay at The Plaza do so. Nothing short of amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy L, Hotel Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at The Plaza. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New York!

Warm regards,
Tracy Lowe, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My favorite hotel in NYC, that my 4th time staying at the plaza hotel service is excellence room is excellence and money worth paying. I recommended that hotel the plaza to be best hotel in new york city

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caythorpe, England
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

When we visited NYC on our honeymoon 25 years ago, we said if we came back we would stay here. So on our silver wedding anniversary we pushed the boat out and decided to spend our last night in NYC at the Plaza. We arrived 1 1/2 hours too early, so left our cases and disappeared for 2 hours. When we arrived back it took over 20 minutes with the receptionist to get a room assigned - he kept disappearing into another room for minutes at a time, leading me to think I had done something wrong!!! I have to agree with BeachBaby 187 review, that the hotel lacks that special reception area, especially after such a glamorous entrance. Also the hotel itself looks a little tired to me in certain areas. For the amount of money I spent for the night there is a lot of the finer details missing (see my review of the Hotel Chandler - free wifi and free 24 hr coffee, both lacking at the Plaza). There is a feeling it is living on it's past.
The champagne bar was great, the waiters were so funny and exceptionally friendly - encouraging me to spend lots of money!! The concierge service was exceptional.
The room was a external room, but alas a view of one of the side roads, not central park or the square. Room was comfortable, all the usuals, fridge, small TV, robes and slippers. Bathroom was something else, however mastic around the bath was poor (sorry hotel inspector mode there).
All in all, I am so happy that I stayed, but do feel it is expensive and they could add little touches - come on free wi-fi, instead of $14.95 per day! If you do want a special night, then I do recommend the Plaza, but there is part of me that thinks you could find equally exceptional places to stay in NYC that gives you something more for the same or less money.

Room Tip: Try and get an external view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy L, Hotel Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Tricky273,

Thank you for your post your review and sharing your experience with us. First and foremost, congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary! We are honored that you chose to come back to The Plaza. I'm please to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay, in particular your guestroom and our colleagues at The Champagne Bar, however disappointed to learn that you felt some of the smaller details were missing. I'd like to take this opportunity to point out that WIFI is complimentary to members of our loyalty program, Fairmont President's Club, which is also free to join and includes many additional benefits. Thank you, again, for your post!

Warm regards,
Tracy Lowe, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#82 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#125 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza continues its heritage of defining luxury with a newly renovated 282 room hotel designed to meet the highest and most demanding of standards. Discerning. Attentive. Discreet. Our luxury hotel in New York City offers its guests every indulgence and caters to every whim. Thoughtfully integrated in every room is a iPad that has been designed specifically for The Plaza guest to control room ambience, as well as to provide access to a vast array of concierge services. Guests have access to The Plaza's top of the line, ultra-luxury automobile, the BMW 7 Series, to explore New York City. Unmatched hotel services and amenities, enhanced by today's foremost technology, truly create a luxury experience nothing short of extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.